Long stay in the clinic without special need - possible consequences

Hello everybody. Today I will write about the result of a long stay of a dog in a veterinary clinic without special need.

Everyone who took their dogs to the clinic knows that this is not their favorite place. Both the degree of fear and hostility of the dog to this institution, which is necessary and often very important for their health and life, depends on the complexity and number of manipulations that the pet had to endure. Even a light inoculation, after some time, is recalled in the dog's memory at the sight or smell of the clinic.

Today's article was written from the experience of the owners of our labrador pupil Yasi, whom many have already seen on YouTube https://youtu.be/r7k2u4FJ3_k

The owners, of course, wanted to do the best. After being vaccinated against rabies, the doctors suggested leaving Yasya for a couple of days in the clinic under supervision, since the owners had to leave. It is clear that the owners decided that it would be better for their pet, all the same, under the supervision of the attendants. So they did, they left Yasya for a couple of days in the clinic, and when they arrived, they didn’t “recognize”.
An emaciated, uncontrollable, almost enraged dog was waiting for them. Which whined, rushed about, could not find a place for itself and absolutely did not look into the eyes. Although before that Yasya was a very cheerful, quite balanced and obedient girl.
By the way, she took a 20-day obedience course with Konstantin Markin. And I can say that she really was a good student! She mastered the course well, she was very attentive, obedient, active, like all Labradors, but manageable, she switched remarkably from playing to commands and maintained good visual contact with the person.

Yasya at the boarding house with Konstantin Markin

Yasya at the boarding house with Konstantin Markin

You can see all this on YouTube by clicking on this link: https://youtu.be/sQsuvbXNaE8
And how do you like it? Yes, she is such an obedient Yasya.

But what happened to our star in the clinic?
Yes, in principle, nothing special - stress and hysteria.
She was brought to an unfamiliar place, vaccinated, and this hurt, also unfamiliar and scary from this, and on top of all this, the owners also left her, in the same place in an unfamiliar place, with people who hurt. Naturally, she was scared and on the basis of this, there was an animal hysteria. Plus, the effect of the vaccine often causes anxiety in the animal. And all this was superimposed one on one, and no one I knew for support, reassurance and protection. Plus, animals in clinics are most often kept in cages, moreover, both sick and healthy in the same room. In our case, I can't say for sure. But, there is a possibility that Yasya lived in a cage and had a chance to watch the torment of others, which also affects the psyche. And by the way, in clinics there are usually no special staff for walking dogs. Most often, after the dogs only clean up. After all, the task of doctors and paramedics is to treat and save. It is unlikely that they have enough time to walk those who are in rehabilitation, when it is necessary to restore the health of the sick and save the dying. Therefore, there is an assumption that our active Yasechka, who loves to run, play and serve a person, had to sit in a cage, walk under herself, look at the torment of others and think what she did that she was abandoned in such conditions.

And when the owners returned, Yasya began to hysteria in order to escape. And it was in this state that she was released. So, it was fixed in the memory of the dog that what you want can be achieved with the help of hysteria and assault. Plus, trust could be lost and resentment towards the owners could arise. All this greatly affected the psychological state and behavior of the dog in general.
She stopped looking in the eyes, obey and became almost uncontrollable. Soon Yasya came for another course to Konstantin Markin, but not “training”, but “psychological rehabilitation”, because Konstantin is not only a trainer, but also a zoopsychologist.
During this course, Yasya returned to normal. Visual contact with the person was established again, the tension in the muscles went away, Yasya began to listen and play - she fully recovered. Which we are very happy about.

I ask everyone who read this article to learn a lesson and not allow their pets to stay in the clinic for a long time without special need. Only if the dog really needs a hospital, round-the-clock supervision and constant procedures. After all, the clinic is a place for saving lives and restoring health.
And if nothing particularly serious, leave it better with people she knows. Or in a boarding house of the type we have, where the dog is given what he needs, where he walks 2-3 times a day, where he is played with, and if necessary they change the bandage, give an injection, put in eyes, or take him to the doctor if necessary.

Ludmila Markina

It may also be of interest: Puppy in a new home. First night, Hotel for dogs. How it wasRabies in dogs - symptoms and prevention, Vaccinations for dogs. How, why and when 

Related blog posts

EnglishRussianUkrainian
Skype

Длительное прибывание в клинике без особой надобности — возможные последствия

Всем здравствуйте. Сегодня я напишу о результате длительного пребывания собаки в ветклинике без особой надобности.

Все, кто водил своих собачек в клинику знают, что это не самое любимое их место. И степень страха, и неприязнь собаки к этому, нужному и часто очень важному для их здоровья и жизни учреждению, зависит от сложности и количества манипуляций, которые довелось питомцу вынести. Даже легкая прививка, через какое-то время отзывается в памяти собаки при виде или запахе клиники.

Сегодняшняя статья написана с опыта хозяев нашей воспитанницы лабрадора Яси, которую многие уже видели на Ютубе https://youtu.be/r7k2u4FJ3_k

Хозяева, конечно хотели сделать как лучше. После прививки от бешенства, доктора предложили оставить Ясю на пару дней в клинике под присмотром, поскольку хозяевам надо было уехать. Понятно, хозяева решили, что так будет лучше для их любимицы, все таки под присмотром у дежурных. Так и сделали, оставили Ясю на пару дней в клинике, а когда приехали не “узнали”.
Их ждала исхудавшая, неуправляемая, практически взбешенная собака. Которая скулила, металась, не могла найти себе места и абсолютно не смотрела в глаза. Хотя до этого Яся была очень веселая, достаточно уравновешенна и послушная девочка.
Кстати, она проходила 20-ти дневный курс послушания у Константина Маркина. И могу сказать, что она действительно была хорошей ученицей! Хорошо освоила курс, была очень внимательна, послушная, активная, как и все лабрадоры, но управляемая, замечательно переключалась с игры на команды и хорошо поддерживала визуальный контакт с человеком.

Яся на пансионе у Константина Маркина

Яся на пансионе у Константина Маркина

Это все вы можете увидеть на ютубе, перейдя по этой ссылке: https://youtu.be/sQsuvbXNaE8
И как, нравится? Да, она такая — послушная Яся.

Но, что же случилось с нашей звездой в клинике?
Да в принципе ничего особенного — стресс и истерика.
Ее привезли в незнакомое место, сделали прививку, а это больно, тоже незнакомо и от этого страшно, и к этому всему ещё и оставили хозяева, там же в незнакомом месте, с людьми, которые сделали больно. Естественно, ей было страшно и на почве этого, случилась животная истерика. Плюс еще и действие вакцины часто вызывает тревожное состояние у животного. И вот это все наложилось одно на одно, и никого знакомого для поддержки, успокоения и защиты. Плюс, животные в клиниках чаще всего, содержаться в клеточках, причем, и больные и здоровые в одном помещении. В нашем случае не могу сказать точно. Но, есть вероятность, что Яся жила в клеточке и довелось наблюдала за мучениями других, что тоже влияет на психику. И кстати, в клиниках обычно нет специального персонала для выгула собак. Чаще всего, после собачек только убирают. Ведь задача докторов и фельдшеров лечить и спасать. Вряд ли, у них хватает времени выгуливать тех, кто на реабилитации, когда надо восстанавливать здоровье больным и спасать умирающих. Потому, есть предположение, что нашей активной Ясечке, которая любит бегать, играть и служить человеку, пришлось сидеть в клеточке, ходить под себя, смотреть на мучения других и думать, что она такого сделала, что ее бросили в таких условиях.

А когда, вернулись хозяева, Яся начала истиричить, что бы вырваться. И именно в этом состоянии ее выпустили. Вот, у собачки и зафиксировалось в памяти, что желаемого можно достичь с помощью истерики и штурма. Плюс могло потеряться доверие и возникнуть обида к хозяевам. Это все очень отразилось на психологическом состоянии и поведении в целом собаки.
Она перестала смотреть в глаза, слушаться и стала практически не управляемая. Вскоре Яся приехала еще на один курс к Константину Маркину, но уже не “обучения”, а “психологической реабилитации”, ведь Константин не только дрессировщик, но и зоопсихолог.
За этот курс Яся пришла в норму. Снова наладился визуальный контакт с человеком, ушло напряжение в мышцах, Яся начала слушать и играть — полностью восстановилась. Чему мы очень рады.

Прошу всех, кто прочитал эту статью вынести урок и не допускать самостоятельное длительное прибывание в клинике своих питомцев без особой надобности. Только, если собака действительно нуждается в стационаре, круглосуточном наблюдении и постоянных процедурах. Ведь клиника — это место спасение жизни и восстановления здоровья.
И если ничего особо серьезного, оставьте лучше у знакомых ей людей. Или в пансионе такого типа, как у нас, где собаке уделяется нужное, где она выгуливается 2-3 раза в день, где с ней играют, а если надо поменяют повязку, сделают укол, закапают глазки, или отвезут к доктору при первой необходимости.

Людмила Маркина

Так же может быть интересно: Щенок в новом доме. Первая ночь, Гостиница для собак. Как все былоБешенство у собак — симптомы и  профилактика, Прививки собакам. Как, зачем и когда 

Похожие записи в блоге

Прокомментировать

Skype