Collar and leash - how and why to use

One of the most common questions concerns a collar and a leash: are they needed at all, and if so, why and how to teach a dog to use them.
We answer: yes, you need both a collar and a leash if you want the dog to be easily controlled and obedient. After all, these are two important attributes in education, training and interaction with a dog.

A collar for a dog, almost like a tie for a person - reminds of status and certain behavior, in the case of a dog, it reminds of good behavior and obedience. There are, of course, individual individuals, and in the dog world, which are not graded by anything, but basically, the collar pacifies the dog, makes it calmer and more obedient, disciplines and provides self-control.
But, do not think that the collar itself is such a super magical thing that you put on and that's it - the dog is obedient. The collar becomes a magical thing only if the dog has been brought up and trained, with the use of “influence through the collar”, if he has been shown that in the collar he is always controlled and controlled by a person. Therefore, at first the collar is needed for training and education, and then to remind your pet of good behavior.

How-to-choose-a-dog-collar
Another collar shows others that the dog has an owner, if suddenly for some reason the dog is behind. And if it is lost, then the collar will help to find the owner, if you write the owners' contacts on its back, or hang a medallion with such information. It is better, of course, to use both the inscription on the collar and the medallion.

As for the leash, it was created not to pull the dog, as many are accustomed to, but to manage, control and teach obedience from a distance. After all, how to pull the dog's collar at a distance in order to correct the behavior? Only thanks to the leash.
Also, the leash makes it possible to teach the dog all the commands without pressing the sacrum or shoulder blades, that is, without the direct impact of the hands on the dog.

Remember that the collar and leash are also needed for walking the dog in crowded places and near the road, so that the dog, those around you, and, accordingly, you are more calm. Because if you walk with a big dog, someone may be afraid of dogs, express their displeasure. If you have a small dog, he may tangle with other people's legs and lose you, or get scared and run away. Well, the road and transport are dangerous for everyone, because you lead the child by the hand near the road, so the dog must be led on a leash for its own safety.

Untitled

We have dealt with the functionality of the collar and leash, now we move on to how to accustom the dog to these attributes.
Naturally, the sooner you start training your dog, the better. It is better to teach the collar from the time when the mother no longer wears puppies by the withers or from 1-2 months, at this age the puppy will most likely not react to the innovation in any way. If, however, the dog is already older and does not want to wear a collar, be patient and do not rush it.
First, let the dog get to know the new object - smell it. Then stroke your dog with this collar a couple of times and immediately pet it with your hand and hide it so that it does not start playing or chewing on it. Repeat this procedure several times throughout the day.
Then try dressing, if the dog is calm about this process, as soon as you put on the collar, stroke and praise the dog and give him a treat. You can go for a walk with the dog, or let him stay at home with a collar. If the dog does not react to the new attribute, if it does not interfere with it, great. If you see that she is a little uncomfortable after 30 minutes, remove it so that the dog has a rest. These steps also need to be repeated several times. So a couple of days, and then just stop removing the collar and that's it.
In this way, the dog can be trained to the collar, and to the leash, and to muzzle, and even to her clothes.
But, if you can’t train a dog on your own, or you’re not sure that you can do it, it’s better to contact a specialist: a trainer, a cynologist or a zoopsychologist.

We wish you a quick and easy training of your dog to the necessary attributes. And we remind you that it is desirable to have a collar on a dog, the only exception can be show dogs, two months before the show, so that the hair on the neck does not break, guard dogs so that the “alien” thief cannot grab the dog by the collar in the fight and thus stop it, or harm the animal.
Good luck to you!

Ludmila Markina

Might be interesting: “A muzzle for dogs – a necessity or a whim”“Soboka goes to the country”, How to rid your house of dog smell

Related blog posts

One comment

  1. Valeria
    21.02.2017 at 19: 19 Reply

    Nice and helpful article. Thanks for the info!

EnglishRussianUkrainian
Skype

Ошейник и поводок — как и зачем применять

Один из самых частых вопросов касается ошейника и поводка: нужны ли они вообще, а если да, то зачем и как приучить к ним собаку.
Отвечаем: да, нужны и ошейник и поводок, если вы хотите, чтобы собака была легко управляема и послушна. Ведь это два важных атрибута в воспитании, дрессировке и взаимодействии с собакой.

Ошейник для собаки, практически как галстук для человека — напоминает о статусе и определенном поведении, в случае с собакой, напоминает о хорошем поведении и послушании. Есть, конечно, отдельные особи, и в собачьем мире, которых ничего не степенит, но в основном, ошейник усмиряет собаку, делает ее спокойнее и послушнее, дисциплинирует и обеспечивает самоконтроль.
Но, не подумайте, что ошейник сам по себе такая супер волшебная штука, которую одели и все — собака послушная. Ошейник становится волшебной штукой, только, если собака воспитывалась и дрессировалась, с применением “воздействия через ошейник”, если ей показали, что в ошейнике она всегда контролируемая и управляемая человеком. Потому, сначала ошейник нужен для дрессировки и воспитания, а потом для напоминания вашему питомцу о хорошем поведении.

Как-выбрать-собачий-ошейник
Ещё ошейник показывает окружающим, что у собаки есть хозяин, если вдруг по какой-то причине собака отстала. А если потерялась, то ошейник поможет найти хозяина, если на его обратной стороне написать контакты хозяев, или повесить медальон с такой информацией. Лучше, конечно, использовать и надпись на ошейнике и медальон.

Что касается поводка, он создан не для того, чтобы тянуть собаку, как многие к этому привыкли, а чтобы ею управлять, контролировать и научить послушанию на расстоянии. Ведь как одернуть собаку за ошейник на расстоянии, чтобы скорректировать поведение? Только благодаря поводку.
Также, поводок даёт возможность научить собаку всем командам без нажатия на крестец или лопатки, то есть, без прямого воздействия рук, на собаку.

Помните, что ошейник и поводок нужны и для выгула собаки в людных местах и близь дороги, чтобы была более спокойна собака, окружающие и соответственно вы. Потому что, если вы гуляете с большой собакой, кто-то может бояться собак, выражать своё недовольство. Если у вас маленькая собачка, она может увязаться за чужими ногами и потерять вас, или чего-то испугаться и убежать. Ну а дорога и транспорт опасны всем, ребёнка ведь вы ведёте за руку возле дороги, вот и собаку надо вести на поводке для ее же безопасности.

Без названия

С функциональностью ошейника и поводка мы разобрались, теперь переходим к тому как приучить собаку к этим атрибутам.
Естественно, чем раньше вы начнёте приучать свою собачку, тем лучше. К ошейнику лучше приучать со времени, когда мама уже не носит щенков за холку или с 1-2 месяцев, в этом возрасте щеночек, скорее всего никак не отреагирует на новшество. Если же, собачка уже повзрослее и никак не хочет одевать ошейник, наберитесь терпения и не торопите ее.
Сначала дайте собаке познакомиться с новым предметом — понюхать. Потом погладьте свою собаку этим ошейником пару раз и сразу же погладьте рукой и спрячьте, чтобы она не начала им играться или грызть. Повторите эту процедуру несколько раз на протяжении дня.
Потом попробуйте одеть, если собачка спокойно относится к этому процессу, сразу же, как одели ошейник, погладьте и похвалите собаку и дайте ей вкусняшку. Можете пойти с собачкой погулять, или пусть побудет дома в ошейнике. Если собака не реагирует на новый атрибут, если он ей не мешает, замечательно. Если вы видите, что ей чуть дискомфортно через минут 30, снимите, чтобы собачка отдохнула. Эти действия тоже надо повторить несколько раз. Так пару дней, а потом просто перестанете снимать ошейник и все.
Таким способом собаку можно приучить и к ошейнику, и к поводку, и к наморднику, и даже к ее одежде.
Но, если у вас не получается самостоятельно приучить собаку, или вы не уверены, что сможете это сделать, лучше обратитесь к специалисту: дрессировщику, кинологу или зоопсихологу.

Желаем вам быстрого и легкого приучения вашей собаки к нужным атрибутам. И напоминаем, что ошейник на собаке желательно должен быть, исключением могут быть только выставочные собаки, за месяц два к выставке, чтобы не заламывалась шерсть на шее, охранные собаки, чтобы “чужой” вор не мог в борьбе схватить собаку за ошейник и таким образом остановить ее, или нанести животному вред.
Успехов вам!

Людмила Маркина

Может быть интересно: «Намордник для собак — необходимость или прихоть»«Собока едет на дачу», «Как избавить дом от запаха собаки»

Похожие записи в блоге

Один комментарий

  1. Валерия
    21.02.2017 at 19:19 Ответить

    Хорошая и полезная статья. Спасибо за информацию!

Прокомментировать

Skype