Rabies in a dog (briefly)

Rabies in dogs and other animals is an infectious disease caused by rhabdoviruses that affects the nervous system (inflammation of the brain). This disease is deadly for animals and humans. Rabies is transmitted through a sick animal to a person through a bite.

Symptoms

An animal with rabies behaves unnaturally. It aggressively attacks other animals or people for no reason. These symptoms begin to appear about 14 days after the rabies virus enters the dog's saliva. And since it is outwardly difficult to determine whether a dog that has bitten a person is ill with rabies, the animal is isolated for a period of two weeks, during which it turns out whether the aggressiveness of the dog is a symptom of a violent form of rabies.

There is a silent form of rabies, it is more common. For the silent form of rabies, progressive paralysis, profuse salivation, and inability to swallow are considered characteristic signs.

Causes

Known carriers of the disease are raccoons, bats, skunks, ground squirrels and other small animals. Rabies is a deadly disease caused by a virus. Rabies in dogs affects the brain when the virus enters the nervous system. The disease can be transmitted to humans.

Treatment

knowWhen the virus enters the nervous system of a dog, the antibodies cannot protect the infected animal. There are no antiviral drugs that prevent infection from affecting the brain. The most important way to combat rabies is vaccination. Vaccination should be carried out at regular intervals. Vaccination is necessary so that in the event of a bite, the dog has a strong immunity to this disease.

As soon as you have a puppy, ask your veterinarian at what age the first vaccination is done. Your doctor will give you a schedule for your next vaccinations.

Related blog posts

EnglishRussianUkrainian
Skype

Бешенство у собаки (коротко)

Бешенство у собаки и других животных — это инфекционное заболевание, вызываемое рабдовирусами, поражает нервную систему (воспаление головного мозга). Данное заболевание является смертельно опасным для животных и для людей. Передается бешенство через больное животное к человеку через укус.

Симптомы

Животное, больное бешенством, ведет себя неестественно. Оно агрессивно, без причины набрасывается на других животных или людей. Эти симптомы начинают проявляться примерно через 14 дней после того, как вирус бешенства попадет в слюну собаке. И так как внешне трудно определить, болеет ли бешенством собака, укусившая человека, животное изолируют на период двух недель, в течение которых выясняется, является ли агрессивность собаки симптомом буйной формы бешенства.

Существует тихая форма бешенства, она является более распространенной. Для тихой формы бешенства характерными признаками считаются прогрессирующий паралич, обильное слюноотделение и неспособность глотать.

Причины

Известными носителями заболевания являются еноты, летучие мыши, скунсы, суслики и другие мелкие животные. Бешенство – смертельное заболевание, которое вызывается вирусом. Бешенство у собаки поражает головной мозг, когда вирус попадает в нервную систему. Заболевание может передаваться человеку.

Лечение

vetКогда вирус попадает в нервную систему собаки, антитела не могут защитить инфицированное животное. Нет и противовирусных лекарственных средств, мешающих инфекции поразить головной мозг. Самым главным способом борьбы с бешенством является вакцинация. Вакцинацию следует проводить через определенные интервалы времени. Вакцинация необходима, чтобы в случае укуса у собаки имелся сильный иммунитет к данному заболеванию.

Как только вы завели щенка, проконсультируйтесь у ветеринара, в какой возрасте делается первая прививка. Врач даст вам график для последующих вакцинаций.

Похожие записи в блоге

Прокомментировать

Skype