What you need to know before buying a dog for a child

Every parent once thinks about such a great gift for their child as an animal. However, in order to choose a dog that will meet the needs of the family, you need to consider some factors.

Age of child

Doctors advise getting the first pet after the child reaches the age of 10 years. However, with proper control and compliance with safety requirements, it is possible to buy a dog for younger children.

child kissing a dogMost children over the age of 10 can easily handle the responsibilities of caring for an animal. By including them in the decision-making process, children will feel responsible for the dog.

Discussion

Before such an important step, you should make sure that the child understands how to care for the animal, what needs the dog has. It is necessary to tell the child about feeding, walking and cleaning. In addition, it is important to explain that the dog is a member of the family, so it must be treated with respect and kindness.

dog and child

Meanwhile, if you buy a dog at a young age or a puppy, then you need to consider that she will need much more attention and preparation. If the family does not have the time, opportunity or energy to raise the animal on their own, then an older dog, at the age of 2 years, can be chosen. At this time, they, as a rule, have already been trained in all the basic commands.

Breed

If someone in the house is allergic to the hair of any pets, then it is worth considering buying a dog of a hypoallergenic breed. In addition, it is important to make sure that the animal is tolerant of children.

positive emoticonHypoallergenic dog breeds are: Schnauzer, Affen Pinscher, Bedlington Terrier, Bichon Frize, Miniature Spitz, Chinese Crested Dog, Shih Tzu, Maltese, Poodle, Samoyed, American Hairless Terrier, West Highland White Terrier, etc.

Next, you need to assess the level of activity of your family. That is, if parents with children are physically active and moderately energetic, then you should choose a dog that also needs exercise (for example, shepherd dogs). If the family leads a sedentary lifestyle, then you can purchase one of the indoor dogs.

Introduction

Before you complete a deal with a breeder and buy a dog, it is very important to conduct an examination of the animal. It is necessary not only to make sure of his health, but also to assess how the dog suits the family in terms of temperament.

Tips

  • Before you buy a dog, you need to find out about the costs associated with its content. Food, veterinarian, clothing and accessories - this is what the animal will need for a comfortable life;
  • If the choice fell on a large and active dog, then you should prepare for its training in advance;
  • Psychologists advise gradually accustoming children to caring for pets. Starting at age 5, they can help care for guinea pigs, fish, or hamsters. At an older age, they will easily cope with the care of the dog;
  • It is important to never leave your dog alone with small children, as they can unwittingly cause aggression in the animal, which will lead to injury.

Thus, by competently approaching the process of choosing a dog, the family can get an affectionate and devoted pet and protector.

Related blog posts

EnglishRussianUkrainian
Skype

Что нужно знать, прежде чем купить собаку для ребенка

Каждый родитель однажды задумывается о таком великолепном подарке для своего чада, как животное. Однако для того чтобы выбрать собаку, которая будет соответствовать потребностям семьи, нужно учитывать некоторые факторы.

Возраст ребенка

Врачи советуют заводить первого питомца после того, как ребенок достигнет возраста 10 лет. Однако при надлежащем контроле и выполнении требований безопасности, купить собаку можно и для детей младшего возраста.

Ребенок целует собакуБольшинство детей старше 10 лет могут без труда справиться с обязанностями по уходу за животным. Если включить их в процесс принятия решения, дети будут чувствовать свою ответственность за собаку.

Обсуждение

Перед таким важным шагом следует убедиться, что ребенок понимает, как ухаживать за животным, какие потребности есть у собаки. Необходимо рассказать ребенку о кормлении, выгуле и уборке. Кроме этого, важно объяснить, что собака – это член семьи, поэтому к ней нужно относиться с уважением и добротой.

Собака и ребенок

Между тем, если купить собаку в молодом возрасте или же щенка, то нужно учитывать, что ей понадобится гораздо больше внимания и подготовки. Если у семьи нет времени, возможностей или энергии, чтобы вырастить животное самостоятельно, то можно выбрать собаку постарше, в возрасте 2 лет. В это время они, как правило, уже обучены всем основным командам.

Порода

Если у кого-то в доме есть аллергия на шерсть каких-либо домашних животных, то стоит подумать о том, чтобы купить собаку гипоаллергенной породы. Кроме этого, важно убедиться, что животное терпимо относится к детям.

Позитивный смайликГипоаллергенные породы собак это: шнауцер, аффен-пинчер, бедлингтон-терьер, бишон-фризе, карликовый шпиц, китайская хохлатая собака, ши-тцу, мальтезе, пудель, самоед, американский голый терьер, вест хайленд уайт терьер и др.

Далее необходимо оценить уровень активности своей семьи. То есть, если родители с детьми физически активны и в меру энергичны, то стоит выбрать собаку, которой также необходимы упражнения (например, овчарки). Если же семья ведет сидячий образ жизни, то можно приобрести одну из комнатных собак.

Знакомство

Прежде чем завершить сделку с заводчиком и купить собаку, очень важно провести процедуру осмотра животного. Необходимо не только убедиться в его здоровье, но и оценить, насколько собака подходит семье по темпераменту.

Советы

  • Прежде чем купить собаку, нужно узнать о расходах, связанных с ее содержанием. Продукты питания, ветеринар, одежда и аксессуары – это то, что будет необходимо животному для комфортной жизни;
  • Если выбор пал на крупную и активную собаку, то стоит подготовиться к ее дрессировке заранее;
  • Психологи советуют постепенно приучать детей к уходу за питомцами. Начиная с 5 лет, они могут помогать ухаживать за морскими свинками, рыбками или хомяками. В старшем возрасте они будут без труда справляться с заботой о собаке;
  • Важно никогда не оставлять пса наедине с маленькими детьми, так как они невольно могут вызвать агрессию у животного, что приведет к травмам.

Таким образом, грамотно подойдя к процессу выбора собаки, семья может получить ласкового и преданного питомца и защитника.

Похожие записи в блоге

Прокомментировать

Skype