Dog breed - Laika

In the northern forests of Europe and Asia, there is an interesting and popular breed of dog among hunters from different countries - Laika. These dogs belong to the Spitz group and have such anatomical differences as pointed and constantly protruding ears, the dog's head is wedge-shaped, and the tail is folded into a ring. At the withers, huskies grow at least 38 and maximum 63 cm. The coat of these dogs is straight with a thick undercoat, the color tone can be different.

As a rule, these dogs are used when hunting large animals (bear), when hunting all fur-bearing animals (squirrels or martens), hunting ungulates (elk) or waterfowl. A feature of the huskies is their behavior during the hunt. So the husky, having found the beast, begins to bark loudly, attracting the attention of the latter, and thereby detains the beast until the hunter approaches. If there is a need to pursue a wounded animal, then in this case the husky behaves silently.

Laika attacks a wild boar

The extraction of fur-bearing animals and the export of furs have been one of the main profitable budget items in Russia for quite a long time, and therefore serious requirements were placed on hunting dogs. And if over time in the European part of Russia only aristocrats began to hunt with dogs, who used hounds in most cases, then in Siberian regions the local population hunted with huskies and they were best preserved there.

The study of this breed of dogs began around the end of the 19th century, and the first in this business were hunters and at the same time dog handlers M.G. Dmitrieva-Sulima and A.A. Shirinsky-Shikhmatov. These people themselves hunted with huskies and promoted this breed in every possible way, constantly publishing articles about these dogs in various publications.

West Siberian Laika

West Siberian Laika

The result of the work of these researchers was the first classification of huskies, which many consider the most objective. So, according to Dmitriev-Sulim, the huskies were divided into two groups.

The first of these included:

  • Finno-Karelian Laika;
  • Cheremis Laika;
  • Tunguska Laika;
  • Galician Laika;
  • Norwegian Laika;
  • Soyot Laika;
  • Zyryanskaya Laika;
  • Vogul Laika;
  • Ostyak Laika;
  • Buryat Laika.

The second group included:

  • Lapland Laika;
  • Samoyed husky.

In the future, work was constantly carried out to study this breed, and in 1939 five standards of huskies were developed and then adopted:

  1. Finno-Karelian Laika;
  2. Komi or Zyryanskaya Laika;
  3. Karelian Laika;
  4. Mansi or Vogul Laika;
  5. Khanty or Ostyak Laika.

Work on the study of the breed was interrupted by the war. However, in these difficult times, the country needed furs more than ever, which led to the creation of 65 nurseries, 17 of which contained only huskies.

Such attention to the breed was a new impetus for the study and breeding of the breed, and in 1947 four new breed standards were proposed and adopted in 1949:

  1. Karelian-Finnish Laika;
  2. West Siberian Laika;
  3. Russian-European Laika;
  4. East Siberian Laika.

And only in 1952 the current standards of this breed were adopted.

Modern likes:

  1. West Siberian Laika;
  2. Russian-European Laika;
  3. East Siberian Laika;
  4. Yakutian Laika;

There is also the Karelian-Finnish Laika breed recognized by everyone, but not included in the classification.

All these breeds of dogs are very good hunters. So, for example, the West Siberian Laika is a tireless hunter, the hardiest dog of the whole family, which showed itself perfectly when hunting a large game and is a master of marten hunting. This dog grows up to 61 cm at the withers with a minimum height of 51 cm, the weight of the West Siberian Laika is within the standard 18-23 kg. The coat of this breed of dog is short and sticking out to the sides, a collar is formed from wool on the neck.

Sign of attentionI want to draw your attention to the fact that husky and husky are two different breeds. I often hear people get confused. Owners of the now popular Husky dog ​​breed are offended when their pets are called huskies. Laikas are not called husky dogs by passers-by. Laika dog breed (Europe, Asia) - hunters, miners; huskies (USA) - sled dogs, as well as companions and show dogs. Although, it is quite possible to call husky and husky brothers, since the history of these two breeds comes down to one land.

Related blog posts

EnglishRussianUkrainian
Skype

Порода собак — лайка

В северных лесах Европы и Азии проживает интересная и популярная среди охотников разных стран порода собак — лайка. Относятся эти собаки к группе шпицев и имеют такие анатомические отличия как заостренные и постоянно торчащие уши, голова собаки имеет клинообразную форму, а хвост свернут в кольцо. В холке лайки вырастают минимум 38 и максимум 63 см. Шерсть у этих собак прямая с густым подшерстком, цветовая тональность может быть разной.

Как правило, используют этих собак во время охоты на крупных зверей (медведь), при охоте на всех пушных зверей (белок или куниц), охотясь на копытных животных (лось) или на водоплавающую дичь. Особенностью лаек является их поведение во время охоты. Так лайка, обнаружив зверя, начинает громко лаять, привлекая внимание последнего, и тем самым задерживает зверя до момента подхода охотника. Если возникает необходимость в преследовании подранка, то в этом случае лайка ведет себя молча.

Лайка нападает на дикого кабана

Добыча пушного зверя и экспорт пушнины довольно долго были в России одной из основных прибыльных статей бюджета и поэтому к охотничьим собакам предъявлялись серьезные требования. И если со временем в европейской части России охотиться с собаками начали только аристократы, использовавшие в большинстве случаев гончих, то в районах Сибири местное население охотилось с лайками и там они сохранились лучше всего.

Изучать эту породу собак начали примерно в конце 19 века и, первыми в этом деле были охотники и одновременно кинологи М.Г. Дмитриева-Сулима и А.А.Ширинский-Шихматов. Эти люди сами охотились с лайками и всеми возможными способами пропагандировали эту породу, постоянно публикуя статьи об этих собаках в различных изданиях.

Западносибирская лайка

Западносибирская лайка

Результатом работы этих исследователей стала первая классификация лаек, которую многие считают наиболее объективной. Так, по мнению Дмитриева-Сулима лайки делились на две группы.

К первой из них относились:

  • Финно-карельская лайка;
  • Черемисская лайка;
  • Тунгусская лайка;
  • Галицкая лайка;
  • Норвежская лайка;
  • Сойотская лайка;
  • Зырянская лайка;
  • Вогульская лайка;
  • Остяцкая лайка;
  • Бурятская лайка.

Ко второй группе относились:

  • Лапландская лайка;
  • Самоедская лайки.

В дальнейшем постоянно велись работы по изучению этой породы и в 1939 году были разработаны и затем приняты пять стандартов лаек:

  1. Финно-карельская лайка;
  2. Коми или зырянская лайка;
  3. Карельская лайка;
  4. Мансийская или вогульская лайка;
  5. Хантыйская или остяцкая лайка.

Работы по изучению породы были прерваны войной. Однако в эти трудные времена стране как никогда была нужна пушнина, что послужило поводом для создания 65 питомников, в 17 из которых содержались одни лайки.

Такое внимание к породе послужило новым толчком к изучению и разведению породы, и в 1947 году были предложены, а в 1949 году приняты четыре новых стандарта породы лаек:

  1. Карело-финская лайка;
  2. Западносибирская лайка;
  3. Русско-европейская лайка;
  4. Восточносибирская лайка.

И только в 1952 году были приняты существующие сейчас стандарты этой породы.

Современные лайки:

  1. Западносибирская лайка;
  2. Русско-европейская лайка;
  3. Восточносибирская лайка;
  4. Якутская лайка;

Еще есть признанная всеми, но не попавшая в классификацию карело-финская порода лайки.

Все эти породы собак очень хорошие охотники. Так, например, западносибирская лайка это неутомимый охотник, самая выносливая собака из всего семейства, которая прекрасно себя показала при охоте на крупного зверя и является мастером охоты на куниц. Вырастает эта собака до 61 см в холке при минимальном росте в 51 см, вес западносибирской лайки находится в пределах стандартных 18-23 кг. Шерсть у этой породы собак короткая и торчащая в стороны, на шее из шерсти образован воротник.

Знак вниманияХочу обратить ваше внимание на то, что лайка и хаски — это две разные породы. Я часто слышу, как люди заблуждаются. Владельцы ныне популярной породы собак хаски обижаются, когда их любимцев называют лайками. Лаек же собаками хаски прохожие не называют. Порода собак лайка (Европа, Азия) — охотники, добытчики; хаски (США) — ездовые собаки, а так же компаньоны и шоу-выставочные собаки. Хотя, вполне можно назвать лайку и хаски братьями, поскольку история этих двух пород сводится к одной земле.

Похожие записи в блоге

Прокомментировать

Skype