Greeting as a sign of leadership in dogs

Every dog ​​owner needs to remember that his pet will always and everywhere try to take a higher status in the family and lead. Because it is an integral part of their natural need to occupy the highest position. Because the last one in the flock may just not have enough food, nor normal shelter, nor a female for breeding, etc. Therefore, instincts are inherent in dogs that push to be higher in order to survive and give birth to their offspring.

Stretches to the owner paws

Dogs understand and perceive leadership in their own way. And you can already notice it, just crossing the threshold of your house. The first sign of leadership that a dog thinks of itself may show up in its way of greeting you. If the dog rises and puts two paws on the person, this is the first sign of greeting as a leader. It is like a person reaching out to say hello to another person. Likewise, a dog stands with its front paws on a person to greet him. But, in this gesture, there is much more essence for the dog than it seems at first glance. She shows a desire to lead. "I want to be like you - tall and stand on two legs, be equal to you!»

nose to nose

Also, to say hello, dogs try to reach out to a person’s nose, as this is a characteristic gesture for dogs - to say hello nose to nose, to sniff. But, since a person, in relation to a dog, has a nose high enough, it stretches higher. What happens with this? The dog shows that she is also tall, trying. The man allows it. Randomly, he may even take a step back, move, and also stroke the dog, thereby contributing to the reinforcement of the dog's leadership sign. "I am so strong that I was able to move a person from their place, and he praised me for it! He obeys me!» The dog gains confidence that he is allowed to do this and will continue to fight for leadership in the future, trying stronger ways.

positive emoticonThe same gestures in a dog can be seen during a walk when he meets another dog. They start throwing their paws at each other, pushing, wallowing, biting each other. And it looks like a fun game from the outside. In fact, they began to compete - which of them is more important. As a result, after a few minutes it will be possible to notice how the dog has become more active in the game, and the second one noticeably loses to the first one.

Pick up

If a person, during a greeting, picks up a dog that jumps on him for joy, this is a big mistake and a strong reinforcement of the dog's aspirations to be in the lead. But, you can’t ignore the dog either. Be sure to pay attention to the dog. You need to find the right way to greet the dog, so as not to support and reinforce his imaginary leadership.

How to say hello to a dog

We love to show each other signs of attention and respect, to say hello, to wish good morning. The dog also needs to take a few seconds of your attention and say hello to it. Often the problem with the very active behavior of the dog during the meeting is that the person thinks that it is not necessary to greet the dog. He goes to the fridge in the morning and the dog suddenly starts jumping on him. She jumps not because she wants to eat, but precisely because she wants to say hello, she wants attention to herself, at least elementary. Tell her "hi". And she will fall behind, stop jumping. You need to understand that with a dog that lives with you, you need to communicate psychologically on an equal footing.

Greeting as a Leader

If the dog meets you very emotionally, your friends are on the doorstep. This suggests that initially you taught her to show this behavior and strongly reinforced. You should not take her in your arms for joy, hug, kiss, sausage, turn over "i love you, jump on me, lick me". It is by this behavior that you teach the dog to behave the same way with you. As a result, she will demand to greet her in the same way, squeak, bark. Because she'll get used to the attention. And this activity is nothing but signs of dominance.

Sign of attentionBarking at the owner is a requirement! If a dog barks at its owner, this is also a strong sign of dominance. We are talking about yapping, and not rude barking (drives away, protects). Her yapping, thin "woof" is: "Give me something to eat! Why don't you let me out? I want a toy! Why don't you let me? Come obey me!”

You should initially accustom her to the minimum manifestation of emotions during the greeting. For your part, it will be enough to stroke the dog, hug, scratch behind the ear. Excessive manifestation of emotions - this will be the next problem: demand, petition, etc.

After all, situations in life can be different, and you should not accustom your dog to the fact that you can give him so much attention during a greeting. After all, it may happen that you come home from work tired, sad, deprive the dog of attention, and she will suffer very much from this. Better let her be accustomed to a minimum of your attention and then you will have a margin for wider manifestations of emotions and love.

To retrain the dog, stepping over the threshold, first of all, calm it down, sit it on the floor, hold it, say hello to it calmly. Do this every time, and in the end, the dog will greet you calmly and stop pressing you with his signs of leadership from the doorway.

author - Konstantin Markin
(animal psychologist, animal trainer)

Related blog posts

EnglishRussianUkrainian
Skype

Приветствие как признак лидерства у собак

Каждому владельцу собак необходимо помнить о том, что его питомец всегда и везде будет стараться занять более высокий статус в семье и лидировать. Поскольку это неотъемлемая часть их природных потребностей – занимать высшую позицию. Потому-что последнему в стае как раз может не хватить ни еды, ни нормального крова,  ни самки для размножения  и т.д. Поэтому в собаках заложены инстинкты, которые толкают быть выше, чтобы выжить и произвести на свет свое потомство.

Тянется к хозяину лапами

Собаки понимают и воспринимают лидерство по-своему. И это можно уже заметить, всего лишь переступив порог своего дома. Первый признак лидерства, которое собака себе возомнила, может проявиться в ее способе приветствия к вам.  Если собака приподнимается и ставит две лапы на человека – это и есть первый признак приветствия как лидера. Это равно тому, как человек протягивает руку, чтобы поздороваться с другим человеком. Так же и собака становиться передними лапами на человека, чтобы поприветствовать его. Но, в этом жесте таиться на много больше сути для собаки, чем кажется на первый взгляд. Она проявляет желание лидировать. «Я хочу быть как ты – высоким и стоять на двух ногах, быть равным тебе!»

Нос в нос

Так же, чтобы поздороваться, собаки пытаются дотянуться к носу человека, так как это свойственный жест для собак – здороваться нос в нос, обнюхиваться. Но, так как у человека, по отношению к собаке, нос находиться достаточно высоко, она тянется повыше. Что же происходит при этом? Собака показывает, что она тоже высокая, старается. Человек ей это разрешает. Случайным образом даже может сделать шаг назад, подвинуться, а так же погладит собаку, тем самым способствуя подкреплению признака лидерства у собаки. «Я такая сильная, что смогла сдвинуть человека с места, и он меня за это похвалил! Он подчиняется мне!» Собака получает уверенность в том, что ей это разрешено и в дальнейшем будет продолжать бороться за лидерство, пробуя более сильные способы.

Позитивный смайликТакие же жесты у собаки можно заметить во время прогулки, когда она встречает другую собаку. Они начинают закидывать друг на друга лапы, толкаться, валяться, покусывать друг друга. И выглядит это со стороны, как забавная игра. На самом же деле, у них началось соревнование — кто же из них важнее. В итоге, спустя несколько минут можно будет заметить, как она собака стала более активна в игре, а вторая заметно проигрывает первой.

Взять на руки

Если человек во время приветствия, берет на руки собаку, прыгающую на него от радости, это является большой ошибкой и сильным подкреплением стремлений собаки быть лидирующей. Но, игнорировать собаку тоже нельзя. Обязательно нужно обращать на собаку внимание. Нужно найти правильный способ здороваться с собакой, чтобы не поддерживать и не закреплять ее мнимое лидерство.

Как правильно здороваться с собакой

Мы любим проявлять друг к другу признаки внимания и уважения, здороваться, желать доброе утро. Собаке так же нужно уделить несколько секунд своего внимания и поздороваться с ней. Часто проблема в очень активном поведении собаки во время встречи в том, что человек думает, будто с собакой не обязательно здороваться. Он подходит к холодильнику утром, и собака вдруг начинает на него прыгать. Она прыгает не потому, что хочет кушать, а именно потому, что хочет поздороваться, хочет внимания к себе, хотя бы элементарного. Скажите ей «привет». И она отстанет, перестанет прыгать. Необходимо понимать, что с собакой, которая живет с вами, нужно общаться психологически на равных.

Приветствие как лидерство

Если собака очень эмоционально встречает вас, ваших друзей на пороге. Это говорит о том, что изначально вы приучили ее проявлять такое поведение и сильно подкрепили. Не стоит брать ее на руки на радостях, обнимать, целовать, колбасить, переворачивать «я тебя люблю, прыгай на меня, облизывай». Именно таким своим поведением, вы учите собаку так же вести себя с вами. В итоге, она будет требовать с ней здороваться таким же образом, пищать, гавкать. Потому-что она привыкнет к этому вниманию. А эта активность не что иное, как признаки доминирования.

Знак вниманияГавканье на хозяина – требование! Если собака гавкает на хозяина – это так же является сильным признаком доминирования. Речь идет именно про тявканье, а не грубое гавканье (прогоняет, защищает). Ее тявканье, тонкий «гав» это: «Дай мне кушать! Почему ты меня не выпускаешь? Я хочу игрушку! Почему ты мне не разрешаешь? Давай подчиняйся мне!»

Следует изначально приучать ее к минимальному проявлению эмоций во время приветствия. С вашей стороны достаточно будет погладить собаку, обнять, почесать за ухом. Излишнее проявление эмоций – это будет следующая проблема: требование, прошение и т.д.

В конце концов, ситуации в жизни могут быть разные, и не следует приучать собаку к тому, что вы ей можете дать столько много внимания во время приветствия. Ведь может случиться так, что вы придете с работы уставший, грустный, обделите собаку вниманием, и она от этого очень сильно будет страдать. Лучше уж пускай она будет приучена к минимуму вашего внимания и тогда у вас будет запас для более широких проявлений эмоций и любви.

Чтобы переучить собаку, переступая через порог, в первую очередь успокойте ее, усадите на пол, придержите, спокойно поздоровайтесь с ней. Проделывайте это каждый раз, и в итоге собака спокойно будет вас приветствовать и перестанет с порога нажимать на вас своими признаками лидерства.

автор — Константин Маркин
(зоопсихолог, дрессировщик)

Похожие записи в блоге

Прокомментировать

Skype