Vaccinations for dogs. How, why and when?

There are many infectious diseases that are dangerous enough for your pet and can lead to his death: plague, parvovirus enteritis, infectious hepatitis. Also, do not forget that some diseases can be dangerous for human life: leptospirosis, rabies. That is why the question “do dogs need vaccinations” should not arise - they do.

The first protection, antibodies against viruses, the puppy receives with mother's milk, which must be vaccinated long before mating. 8 weeks after birth, the first vaccinations are given to dogs, as the action of antibodies fades and does not provide complete protection. In the kennel, the first vaccination of the dog is done after 6 weeks, because the risk of disease is higher there, due to the large accumulation of animals. It is better to do the first vaccination for puppies at home, since they are practically not protected from viruses, and, as you know, healthy people rarely come to the hospital.

Vaccinations for dogs

The second vaccination for the dog is given at intervals of 3 weeks after the first one (revaccination), at which time the mother's antibodies in the puppy's body are completely gone, and those obtained with the first vaccination are no longer enough.

Subsequently, your pet should be vaccinated once a year to maintain immunity.

Before vaccination, the dog must check:

Before vaccinating dogs, you need to make sure that they are clinically healthy. Your dog should be eating well, have a normal temperature (37,5°C - 38,9°C), clear lungs and no sign of a runny nose or other minor ailments. If everything is fine with the dog, then you need to clean it of parasites (fleas and worms) and only 10 days after that, you can be vaccinated.

AttentionAll this is done for this: an animal that is sick, or has worms, develops an insufficient immune response to the vaccine. In other words, if a weakened organism is vaccinated, the animal, even when vaccinated, can get sick.

dog after vaccination

After vaccination, within 10 days, your pet needs peace and comfort. Try not to expose him to great physical exertion, drafts, hypothermia, or overheating, do not tire him with long transportation and walks, and also exclude contact with other animals. During this period, the body is weakened, and the dog may get sick, so be more careful.

Health and joy to you and your pets 😉

Ludmila Markina

Related blog posts

EnglishRussianUkrainian
Skype

Прививки собакам. Как, зачем и когда?

Существует множество инфекционных заболеваний, которые достаточно опасны для вашего питомца и могут привести к его гибели:  чума,  парвовирусный энтерит, инфекционный гепатит. Также не надо забывать, что некоторые заболевания могут быть опасны и для жизни человека: лептоспироз, бешенство. Именно поэтому не должно возникать вопроса «нужны ли прививки собакам» – нужны.

Первую защиту, антитела от вирусов, щенок получает с молоком матери, которая обязательно должна быть привита еще задолго до вязки. Через 8 недель после рождения делаются первые прививки собакам, так как действие антител угасает и не обеспечивает полной защиты. В питомнике первая прививка собаке делаться через 6 недель, потому что риск заболевания там выше, из-за большого скопления животных. Первую прививку щенкам лучше делать на дому, так как они практически не защищены от вирусов, а в больницу, сами понимаете, здоровые приходят редко.

Прививки собакам

Вторая прививка собаке делается с интервалом в 3 недели после первой (ревакцинация) в это время антител матери в организме щенка уже совершенно нет, а полученных с первой прививкой, уже не достаточно.

В последующем прививать своего питомца следует раз в год для поддержания иммунитета.

Перед прививкой собаке необходимо проверить:

Перед тем как делать прививки собакам, необходимо убедиться, что они клинически здоровы. Ваша собака должна хорошо кушать, иметь нормальную температуру (37,5°С – 38,9°С), чистые легкие и никакого намека на насморк, или другие незначительные недуги. Если с собакой все хорошо, тогда нужно очистить ее от паразитов (блох и глистов) и только через 10 дней после этого, можно делать прививку.

ВниманиеВсе это делается вот для чего: у животного, которое болеет, или есть глисты, вырабатывается недостаточный иммунный ответ на прививку. Другими словами, если привить ослабленный организм, животное, даже будучи вакцинированным, может заболеть.

Собака после прививки

После вакцинации, в течение 10 дней, вашему питомцу нужен покой и комфорт.  Постарайтесь не подвергать его большим физическим нагрузкам, сквознякам, переохлаждению, или перегреву, не утомляйте длительными транспортировкам и прогулкам, а также, исключите контакты с другими животными. В этот период организм ослаблен, и собака может заболеть, потому будьте более внимательны.

Здоровья и радости вам и вашим питомцам 😉

Людмила Маркина

Похожие записи в блоге

Прокомментировать

Skype