The dog is jealous of the child. What to do?

The family has grown - you have become parents! But some don't seem to be very happy. The dog is jealous of the child - he thinks that he will lose your love and interest. How to deal with a dog's jealousy and get him to accept a new family member?

The birth of a child is a joyful event, but it will take a little effort on your part to share the joy of this event with a four-legged friend.

Sign of attentionIf the change in an animal's behavior seems strange to you, try to understand it: until now, all attention has been focused on it, but now everything has suddenly changed. Unfortunately, there are times when dogs refuse to accept a newborn baby. 

Dogs are known to be very fond of babies. But there are exceptions. In this case, it will take some effort from the young parents to help the dog accept the new family structure, overcome jealousy and love the child. How to do it right? Here are some tips to help with this:

- let the dog participate in the preparation for the arrival of the child. Do not take the dog to the balcony or yard, do not put it on a chain so that it does not “disturb” the child;

The dog is jealous of the child

- when the child first appears in the house after the birth, let the dog smell it. It is also helpful to give the baby's clothes a sniff even before the baby comes directly into the house. Mom, entering the house, should greet the dog in the same way as she greeted her before;

- do not hold the child in your arms while when you play with your dogbecause a sudden movement can injure the child;

- treat your dog the same way, as before the birth of a child, follow all established rules and rituals;

- pay attention how the dog behaves in the room with the child. Do not argue, do not shout, do not kick the dog out of the child's room. Instead, help the animal feel important. For example, let the dog give you things that belong to the child;

The dog is jealous

– make sure that when you pet your baby and talk to him affectionately, you behave the same way with the dog. Do not, under any circumstances, allow the animal to feel neglected;

- when a child starts to crawl, you will definitely must control his behavior and treatment of the dog. Grabbing the ears or snout of an animal can be perceived by the dog as a threat and cause a corresponding reaction. When the child grows up, explain to him how to properly touch the dog;

- take child for a walk with the dogand let her play with it. This will help create a good relationship between them. Show with your behavior the stability of the relationship and trust in the dog. Show the dog that you are happy to see him play with the child;

- be patient. Some dogs take less time to adjust to a new situation, while others take longer to get used to. In most cases, the animal adapts and understands that there is no threat or cause for concern.

Heart

Related blog posts

EnglishRussianUkrainian
Skype

Собака ревнует к ребенку. Что делать?

Семья увеличилась – вы стали родителями! Но кто-то, кажется, не очень-то радуются. Собака ревнует к ребенку — она думает, что потеряет вашу любовь и интерес. Как справиться с ревностью собаки и заставить ее принять нового члена семьи?

Рождение ребенка – радостное событие, но потребуется немного усилий с вашей стороны для того, чтобы поделиться радостью от этого события с четвероногим другом.

Знак вниманияЕсли вам кажутся странными изменения в поведении животного, постарайтесь понять его: до сих пор все внимание было сосредоточено на нем, а теперь все вдруг изменилось. К сожалению, бывают случаи, когда собаки отказываются принимать новорожденного ребенка. 

Известно, что собаки очень любят младенцев. Но есть и исключения. В этом случае потребуется некоторое усилие от молодых родителей, чтобы помочь собаке принять новую структуру семьи, преодолеть ревность и полюбить ребенка. Как сделать это правильно? Вот некоторые советы, которые помогут в этом:

позвольте собаке участвовать в подготовке к прибытию ребенка. Не отводите собаку на балкон или во двор, не сажайте на цепь вроде как для того, чтобы она не «беспокоила» ребенка;

Собака ревнует к ребенку

– когда ребенок впервые появляется в доме после роддома, дайте собаке понюхать его. Также полезно дать понюхать одежду младенца еще до того, как ребенок появится непосредственно в доме. Мама, входя в дом, должна приветствовать собаку так же, как приветствовала ее и раньше;

– не держите ребенка на руках в то время, когда играете с собакой, поскольку резкое движение может травмировать ребенка;

ведите себя с собакой так же, как и до рождения ребенка, соблюдайте все устоявшиеся правила и ритуалы;

обращайте внимание на то, как собака ведет себя в комнате с ребенком. Не спорьте, не кричите, не выгоняйте собаку из комнаты ребенка. Вместо этого помогите животному почувствовать свою важность. Например, пусть собака подает вам вещи, принадлежащие ребенку;

Собака ревнует

– убедитесь, что когда вы гладите ребенка и ласково с ним разговариваете, вы таким же образом ведете себя и с псом. Ни при каких обстоятельствах не позволяйте животному чувствовать себя заброшенным;

– когда ребенок начинает ползать, вы обязательно должны контролировать его поведение и обращение с собакой. Хватание за уши или морду животного может восприниматься собакой как угроза и вызывать соответствующую реакцию. Когда ребенок подрастет, объясните ему, как правильно касаться собаки;

– возьмите ребенка на прогулку с собакой, и пусть она играет с ним. Это поможет создать между ними хорошие отношения. Покажите своим поведением стабильность отношения и доверие к собаке. Покажите собаке, что вы рады видеть, как она играет с ребенком;

наберитесь терпения. Некоторым собакам нужно меньше времени, чтобы адаптироваться к новой ситуации, а некоторые нуждаются в более продолжительном привыкании. В большинстве случаев животное адаптируется и понимает, что нет никакой угрозы и повода для беспокойства.

Сердечко

Похожие записи в блоге

Прокомментировать

Skype