Clever dog. Dog sign language

What does smart dog mean? What makes them smart? Probably a rather controversial issue. First of all, these are the abilities of the dog, the predisposition of the breed, intuition and, most importantly, training. Much has been written and said about breeds. Here we will talk about the importance of human understanding of natural abilities in dogs, as well as the importance of applying the right methods for training dogs.

How does a dog understand a person?

It is not uncommon for a dog to anticipate a person's actions. She knows how to read, understand the emotions of a person, his words, gestures and facial expressions, the timbre of his voice. Many say that the intelligence of a dog is equal to the intelligence of a child at the age of 2-3 years. And this means that a dog can understand and perceive several thousand or more words, intonations and gestures. There are examples when a dog easily remembers more than a hundred names and objects. Can find them among others.

The natural foundations of the mind in dogs

The very first teacher in dogs is the mother who gave birth to them, as well as the instincts laid down genetically (natural instincts). Developing in a small pack among brothers, the puppies also develop and establish rules and techniques for influencing each other, such as stroking, biting, pressing, bowing, turning over, voice sounds (growling, barking), etc. This is all - the language of communication. First of all, this all happens in the form of a game and further determines the dominance and status in the pack, which means submission, access and order of receiving food, choice of a partner, and so on. That is, the survival of the fittest, the so-called natural selection.

smart dog and man

Since we take a puppy from a canine family, usually around 2 months old, the puppy has already absorbed all the knowledge that was passed down from his family. And we do not need to “reinvent the wheel”, but skillfully use this canine communication language for training and further training and acquiring skills that are useful and pleasing to a person in interaction with a dog.

Click on the picture to enlarge:

Canine language translation

In most cases, dog owners do not know, do not suspect that their pet is not a tabula rasa - a blank slate. And the dog does not understand many of the manipulations done by man, the so-called initial steps of an incompetent trainer. This adversely affects not only the quality of training, but also the psyche of the animal.

In proper training, correcting the behavior of a dog, a cynologist or zoopsychologist correctly selects methods to obtain the desired behavior. In addition to the sign language of dogs, which I wrote about above, there are methods of reinforcement and punishment (carrot and stick), methods that are built on the food instinct, game methods, etc. But, more on that another time. Usually, for effective training, many methods are used simultaneously, and not separately.

What makes dogs smart is people's understanding of the dog's language and the right training methods, to a lesser extent the ability of the breed and upbringing (environment).

author - Konstantin Markin
(animal psychologist, animal trainer)

Related blog posts

5 comments

  1. Motya
    15.12.2013 at 10: 03 Reply

    Cool, I've been wanting to learn sign language from dogs for a long time! Super!

    • Natalia
      26.12.2013 at 16: 14 Reply

      Yes, it's very funny to read and understand their gestures))

  2. fields
    31.07.2014 at 23: 18 Reply

    I wonder if there is a dog language spelled alphabetically?

    • Natalia
      01.08.2014 at 01: 35 Reply

      There is something more interesting - zoopsychology!
      Start with the book "King Solomon's Ring")))

  3. Natalia
    01.08.2014 at 01: 41 Reply

    By the way, about the last two pictures “High” and “I love you, don’t stop”:
    If your dog reacts strongly to your touch in the area of ​​​​the back above the tail, this may be a sign of inflammation of the paraanal glands. I advise you to take the dog to the vet, just in case. This also includes:
    - catches and gnaws the tail;
    - scratches and gnaws sides;
    - small wounds covered with a crust;
    - actively scratches the chin;
    - inflammation of the ears.

EnglishRussianUkrainian
Skype

Умная собака. Язык жестов собак

Что означает — умная собака? Что делает их умными? Наверное, довольно спорный вопрос. В первую очередь это способности собаки, предрасположенности породы, интуиция и самое важное — дрессировка. О породах много что написано и сказано.  Здесь речь пойдет о важности понимания человеком привитых природой способностей у собак, а так же о важности применения правильных методов для обучения собак.

Как собака понимает человека

Собака не редко может предвидеть действия человека. Она умеет считывать, понимать эмоции человека, его слова, жесты и мимику, тембр голоса. Многие говорят, что интеллект собаки равен интеллекту ребенка в возрасте 2-3 лет. А это значит, что собака может понимать и воспринимать несколько тысяч и более слов, интонаций и жестов. Есть примеры, когда собака с легкостью запоминает более сотни названий и предметов. Может их найти среди других.

Природные основы разума у собак

Самый первый учитель у собак — мама, которая их родила, а также инстинкты, заложенные генетически (природные инстинкты). Развиваясь в маленькой стае среди братьев, у щенят также  вырабатываются и устанавливаются правила и приемы воздействия между собой, такие как поглаживания, покусывания, придавливания, поклоны, переворачивания, голосовые звуки (рычание, гавканье) и др. Это все – язык общения. В первую очередь это все происходит в форме игры и  в дальнейшем определяет главенство и статус в стае, а значит подчинение, доступ и очередность получения пищи, выбор партнера и так далее. То есть выживание сильнейших, так называемый природный отбор.

Умная собака и человек

Так как мы забираем щенка из собачьей семьи, обычно около 2-х месяцев, щенок уже впитал все знания, которые передавались от его семьи. И нам не нужно «изобретать велосипед», а умело использовать этот собачий язык общения для дрессировки и дальнейшего обучения и приобретения навыков полезных и угодных человеку во взаимодействии с собакой.

Нажмите на картинку, чтобы увеличить:

Собачий язык перевод

В большинстве случаев хозяева собак не знают, не подозревают, что их питомец не tabula rasa — чистая доска. И собака не понимает многие манипуляции проделанные человеком, так называемые начальные шаги некомпетентного дрессировщика. Это пагубно влияет не только на качество дрессировки, но и на психику животного.

В правильной дрессировке, корректировке поведения собаки, кинолог или зоопсихолог верно подбирает методы для получения нужного поведения. Помимо языка жестов собак, о котором я писал выше, есть методы  подкрепления и наказания (кнута и пряника),  методы, которые построены на пищевом инстинкте, игровые методы и др. Но, об этом в другой раз. Обычно для эффективной дрессировки используются множество методов одновременно, а не по отдельности.

Что же делает собак умными — это понимание людьми собачьего языка и верно подобранные методы дрессировки, в меньшей мере способности породы и воспитание (среда).

автор — Константин Маркин
(зоопсихолог, дрессировщик)

Похожие записи в блоге

5 комментариев

  1. Мотя
    15.12.2013 at 10:03 Ответить

    Классно, я давно хотела узнать язык жестов у собак! Супер!

    • Наталия
      26.12.2013 at 16:14 Ответить

      Да, весьма забавно читать и понимать их жесты ))

  2. Поля
    31.07.2014 at 23:18 Ответить

    Интересно, а есть собачий язык по буквам алфавита?

    • Наталия
      01.08.2014 at 01:35 Ответить

      Есть нечто более интересное — зоопсихология!
      Начните с книги «Кольцо царя Соломона» ))

  3. Наталия
    01.08.2014 at 01:41 Ответить

    Кстати, на счет двух последних картинок «Кайф» и «Я люблю тебя, не останавливайся»:
    Если Ваша собака сильно реагирует на Ваши прикосновения в области спины над хвостом — это может быть признаком воспаления параанальных желез. Советую показать собаку ветеринару, на всякий случай. Сюда так же относятся:
    — ловит и грызет хвост;
    — чешет и выгрызает бока;
    — небольшие ранки, покрытые корочкой;
    — активно чешет подбородок;
    — воспаление ушей.

Прокомментировать

Skype