Husky and Malamute - how to distinguish

The Alaskan Malamute and Siberian Husky were bred in the northern latitudes, they were used primarily as sled dogs. The homeland of the first is Alaska, the second - Siberia. Due to the harsh conditions in their homelands, both breeds are very hardy. They have to move through deep snow.

Dogs in harness

Huskies and Malamute are breeds that have shown themselves to be excellent helpers and friends of people. Both breeds are drawn to people, affectionate and playful. Over the long years of the existence of breeds, they have completely repulsed aggression towards people. Any manifestation of aggression towards a person is considered as a marriage (unless, of course, you bring the dog to a white knee).

These two beautiful breeds of dogs are very similar to each other physically. Those who are not very versed in the breeds can easily make a mistake. But the differences in them are just as well visible, especially if you put dogs of these two breeds side by side. It is more difficult if you see one of the representatives of these two breeds.

Husky and Malamute - comparison

Let's try to figure out how to distinguish a Husky from a Malamute. First of all, I want to draw attention to this - many hunting dog breeds that were bred in the north of the European continent are commonly called huskies.

Sign of attentionMalamute and Huskies are not huskies, moreover, huskies significantly lose to them in harness, but they are clearly in the lead in hunting. You can often hear from people who are inexperienced in these matters: “like a husky” - no, it doesn’t happen! There is a husky - a hunter, there are husky and malamute - riding.

Malamute - has more physical strength. Friendly, calm. More obedient and better trainable. Malamute is designed to transport quite significant cargo over long distances. At the same time, he develops a small speed, but moves forward with perseverance - nothing will stop him!

Husky - differ in speed, character, good memory. They are cunning, curious, and most importantly, they know how to make decisions, and not just follow commands. They can be trained, but it costs the breeder a lot of effort. Husky runs briskly, the task of dogs is to quickly deliver a small load to its destination, so they often take part in speed competitions. Husky movements are more free, easy.

Appearance

Malamute - larger and more massive, taller than a husky, but not much, the tail is lowered. The fur is thick and fluffy. As a rule, they are gray-white in color. Brown eyes. The blue color of the eyes of a Malamute is a marriage.

Alaskan Malamute

Husky - more squat than Malamutes. The coat is thick and dense, not so fluffy. But the undercoat is soft and looks like silver threads. There are various colors - black and white, brown and white, gray and white, pure gray, and very rare - pure white. The tail is raised in the form of a month or twisted into a ring. Powerful but light paws. Huskies have unique eye colors. Brown, gray, yellow, and of course blue. It can also be heterochromia - a different eye color.

Siberian Husky

positive emoticonSky blue eyes are one of the qualities that made the Husky breed quite popular all over the world, especially in the USA, Canada, Italy, and Russia. It is said that in the north, the gods chose the husky as the guardian of the aurora borealis and awarded her with unique eyes.

Undoubtedly, both breeds are magnificent and which one to choose, everyone will decide for himself. If you are going to become the happy owner of a Malamute or Husky, be prepared in advance for long walks, for hyperactivity, constant games. Because these dogs have a lot of energy. Never hit or punish them or you will end up with the dog running away from you. In training, pay attention to the "attachment technique". Treat your pet with care and tenderness. Appreciate and love.

And do not forget the most important thing - "We are responsible for those we have tamed!" as the Little Prince said about his fox cub.

Related blog posts

EnglishRussianUkrainian
Skype

Хаски и Маламут – как различить

Аляскинского маламута и сибирского хаски вывели в северных широтах, их использовали, прежде всего, в качестве ездовых. Родиной первых является Аляска, вторых – Сибирь. За счет суровых условий в их родных краях обе породы очень выносливы. Им приходится передвигаться по глубокому снегу.

Собаки в упряжке

Хаски и маламут – породы, которые показали себя как отличные помощники и друзья людей. Обе породы тянутся к людям, ласковы и игривы. За долгие лета существования пород у них полностью отбита агрессия к людям. Любое проявление агрессии в сторону человека считается как брак (если конечно не доводить собаку до белого коления).

Эти две прекрасные породы собак очень схожи друг на друга физически. Те, кто не очень разбирается в породах, могут легко ошибиться. Но и отличия в них так же хорошо просматриваются, особенно, если поставить рядышком собак этих двух пород. Сложнее, если видеть одну из представителей этих двух пород.

Хаски и Маламут - сравнение

Давайте попробуем разобраться, как хаски отличить от маламута. Прежде всего, хочу обратить внимание вот на что – много охотничьих пород собак, которые вывели на севере европейского континента, принято называть лайками.

Знак вниманияМаламут и хаски не являются лайками, более того, лайки существенно им проигрывают в упряжке, зато в охоте явно лидируют. Часто можно услышать от неопытных в этих вопросах людей:  «лайка хаски» — нет, так не бывает! Есть лайка – охотник, есть хаски и маламут – ездовые.

Маламут – отличается большей физической силой. Доброжелательны, спокойны. Более послушны и лучше поддаются дрессировке. Маламут создан для перевозки довольно-таки значительных грузов на далекие расстояния. При этом он скорость развивает небольшую, но с упорством движется вперед – ничто его не остановит!

Хаски – отличаются скоростью, характером, хорошей памятью. Они хитры, любопытны и самое главное – они умеют принимать решения, а не исключительно следовать командам. Дрессировке поддаются, но это стоит заводчику больших усилий. Хаски бежит резво, задача собак – быстро доставить по назначению небольшой груз, так что они часто принимают участие в соревнованиях на скорость. Движения хаски более свободны, легки.

Внешний вид

Маламут – более крупные и массивные, выше хаски, но не намного, хвост опущен. Шерсть густая и пушистая. Как правило, они имеют серо-белую расцветку. Карие глаза. Голубой цвет глаз у маламута – брак.

Аляскинский маламут

Хаски – более приземисты, чем маламуты. Шерсть густая и плотная, не настолько пушистая. Но подшерсток мягкий и похож на серебряные ниточки. Бывает различная окраска – черно-белый, буро-белый, серо-белый, чисто серый, и очень редкий – чисто-белый. Хвост поднят в виде месяца или закручен кольцом. Мощные, но легкие лапы. У хаски уникальная расцветка глаз. Карие, серые, желтые, и конечно голубые. Так же может быть гетерохромия – различный цвет глаз.

Сибирский хаски

Позитивный смайликНебесно-голубые глаза – это одна из качеств, благодаря которым порода хаски стала достаточно популярной во всем мире, особенно в США, Канаде, Италии, в России. Говорят, что на севере боги выбрали хранителем полярного сияния именно хаски и наградили ее уникальными глазами.

Несомненно, обе породы великолепны и кого из них выбрать, это решит каждый сам для себя. Если вы собираетесь стать счастливым обладателем маламута или хаски, будьте готовы заранее к долгим прогулкам, к гиперактивности, постоянным играм. Потому что у этих собак очень много энергии. Никогда не бейте и не наказывайте их, иначе вы столкнетесь с тем, что собака будет убегать от вас. В дрессировке обратите внимание на «методику прикреплений». Относитесь к своему любимцу с заботой и нежностью. Цените и любите.

И не забывайте самое главное – «Мы в ответе за тех, кого приручили!» как говорил Маленький Принц про своего лисенка.

Похожие записи в блоге

Прокомментировать

Skype