How not to lose your dog

Since I had a dog, I began to live a completely different life. Walking a pet has become a good excuse for daily walks, which were so lacking due to work. Need proper dog feeding set me on the path to quality nutrition for my entire family. I became more interested in zoopsychology, dog care, exhibitions, their health and this inspires me. My life is filled with new acquaintances. And in my everyday life there is no more boredom and melancholy. Thanks to the dog, a rainbow is always visible in the sky, even in rainy weather.

Shih Tzu puppy

With the acquisition of the dog and all this dowry that came with it, I began to think about how not to lose the dog along with all the joys of life that she gives me with her existence. Based on my practice, as well as the recommendations of an experienced trainer and zoopsychologist, I want to share with you my knowledge on this matter.

Dog chipping

When my dog ​​was 6 months old, we boldly went to get a pedigree (they give it out from 6 months old), and at the same time we signed up for chipping. A chip with a size slightly larger than a grain of rice is injected into the dog under the skin at the withers, using a special syringe. The procedure lasts exactly 1 second. The dog only flinched slightly, frightened by a sharp percussive sound. I felt like I was more scared than her. After that, I did not see any blood, or any marks on the withers (possibly due to thick wool). When she returned home, she became addicted to toys and completely forgot about our trip.

Dog chipping

The chip contains a series of numbers that will tell all the necessary information on the database. The chip is scanned with a special device, which is available in the services (veterinarians, border guards, etc.). Especially chipping of dogs is required for traveling abroad and exhibitions. But, it is recommended for everyone, since this is the dog's identification code, which firmly binds the animal to the owner.

What information is on the chip in dogs

I am calm now. If, God forbid, my dog ​​gets lost, all the data is in her withers. Indifferent people will pass by, most often they are not in the know. And those people who will show mercy and pick up a dog probably know that first of all the animal needs to be shown to the veterinarian, where they will check the presence of a chip with all the necessary information that will help return the dog to the owner's hands.

Stamp

The stigma of a dog is a tattoo on the ear, or stomach. A set of numbers and letters, which, like the chip, binds the dog to the database. The stigma is good because it can be determined without any electronic scanners. The stigma can be found immediately on the spot. But, there are also disadvantages - the tattoo tends to collapse over time and eventually becomes illegible, unreadable. Some make the dog both a brand and a chip. In a word, the past.

dog's address book

No matter what, I hung an address book on my dog's collar. This is a pendant, most often metal. The most necessary information about the dog is engraved on the pendant: name, address, phone number of the owner. Address tags are varied, most often look like decoration. They come in the form of a flat metal form (bone, heart, flower) where information is placed on both sides by engraving. They come in the form of a metal drop that can be unrolled and placed inside a piece of paper with the necessary information. Than droplets are better: if you have changed your phone number or address, you can rewrite the information on another piece of paper and replace it. And they are not expensive, compared to individual engraving, which must be specially ordered.

Address book

An address tag for a dog is a necessary attribute, I think. Regardless of whether it has a brand or a chip, the address book will immediately indicate where to take the lost dog. Besides, it looks very nice.

The command "to me"

If the command “to me” is well fixed in the mind of the pet and commanded in time, there is a high probability that she will hear you, go towards you and, as a result, will not get lost. Most often, pets are lost precisely when the attention of the owner over the dog is lost. Then it remains only to scream, as in the forest. Don't lose sight of your pets. By the way, it is not necessary to fixate the dog on the “come to me” command, you can simply teach it to respond well to its name, etc.

Fear of losing the owner

Are you wondering how not to lose your dog? Try to make the dog think how not to lose you. One of the great ways to avoid losing a dog is to develop in it the fear of losing the owner. To do this, you need to hide a couple of times during the walk, while she was distracted by another bush. Let the dog get nervous about losing you. And then you will not need to follow the dog, but the dog itself will follow you so that you do not get lost. But, be careful not to hide for a long time, otherwise the dog will get lost while he is looking for you. She will think that you went home without her and will run after you, getting lost in the city, identical high-rise buildings.

Leave

Of course, there is a possibility that you may not hold on to the leash during a sharp movement of your dog, which was stung in the ass by a wasp, and she began to run away. But, nevertheless, walking the dog on a leash, you minimize the loss of a pet. But keeping your dog on a leash all the time is also not recommended. The dog needs to feel that you trust him. In addition, a few minutes of walking without a leash is a reward for a dog for good behavior while walking.

attentionAttention: none of the above ways to protect a dog from loss can be considered as one hundred percent protection from loss. But, God saves the safe.


When can a dog get lost?

  • may be frightened by the explosion of a firecracker and drape wherever his eyes look;
  • can run after another dog;
  • an attack on a dog by a pack of other dogs;
  • it happens that he turns on his instinct of a bloodhound and follows the smell;
  • can run after another person who looks like you (hair, jacket);
  • run towards the house (there can be many reasons for this) although the house is on the other side;
  • run away because of the owner’s bad attitude towards the dog (including during training), dogs are like children - they don’t run away from good parents;
  • the dog may run away during an accident that happened to its owner (for example, got hit by a car);
  • and much more.

I don't know why, but I very often look through the section "lost and found" on Slando. There are a lot of announcements about the loss and discovery of dogs, as well as other animals. Sometimes I even try to match two ads “I lost my dog” and “I found a dog”, looking for similarities in the appearance of the dogs in the photo. I noticed that German Shepherds, Dachshunds and Alabai are most often lost. Do not pass by a lost dog, examine it, perhaps it has a brand, an address book. Of course, the animal can be scared. First of all, you should talk to him. Also, keep your pet safe. After all, you already know how not to lose a dog.

Help find a friend

I would love to read your thoughts on this in the comments. Thanks a lot!

Related blog posts

2 comment

  1. Lorena Traore
    08.08.2015 at 13: 30 Reply

    I don't even know what to say. soon I will also have a chihuahua puppy. But this breed of dog is very small and (God forbid) it will be more difficult to look for. But after this article, I was generally scared ... The loss of a pet is very difficult for both the owner and his pet! I sincerely al those who lose their pets!

  2. Natalia
    19.06.2017 at 19: 31 Reply

    Keep your dog on a leash and you won't have to ooh and ooh!!! The dog is not to blame, only the owner is to blame.

EnglishRussianUkrainian
Skype

Как не потерять собаку

С тех пор, как у меня появилась собака, я начала жить совершенно другой жизнью. Выгул питомца стал хорошим поводом для ежедневных прогулок, которых так не хватало из-за работы. Необходимость правильного кормления собаки натолкнула меня на путь качественного питания всей моей семьи. Я стала больше интересоваться зоопсихологией, уходом за собаками, выставками, их здоровьем и это побуждает во мне вдохновение. Моя жизнь наполнилась новыми знакомствами. И в моих буднях больше нет  скуки и тоски. Благодаря собаке, в небе всегда видна радуга, даже в дождливую погоду.

Щенок ши-тцу

С приобретением собаки и всего этого приданого, которое было вместе с ней в комплекте, я начала думать, как не потерять собаку вместе со всеми радостями жизни, которые она мне дарит своим существованием. Исходя из своей практики, а так же рекомендаций опытного дрессировщика и зоопсихолога, хочу поделиться с вами своими знаниями по этому поводу.

Чипирование собак

Когда моей собачке исполнилось 6 месяцев, мы смело поехали получать родословную (выдают ее с 6 месяцев), а вместе с этим записались на чипирование. Чип с размером чуть больше зернышка риса вводится собаке под кожу в холке, с помощью специального шприца. Процедура длится ровно 1 секунду. Собачка лишь слегка вздрогнула, испугавшись резкого ударного звука. Мне показалось, что я испугалась больше нее. После чего я не видела ни крови, ни каких либо следов на холке (возможно из-за густой шерсти). Вернувшись домой, она увлеклась игрушками и совершенно забыла о нашей поездке.

Чипирование собак

Чип содержит в себе ряд чисел, которые расскажут всю необходимую информацию по базе данных.  Сканируется чип специальным аппаратом, который имеется в службах (у ветеринаров, пограничников и др.). Особенно чипирование собак требуется для выезда за границу и выставок. Но, рекомендуется для всех, поскольку это идентификационный код собаки, который жестко привязывает животное к хозяину.

Какая информация в чипе у собак

Я теперь спокойна. Если, не дай бог, моя собака потеряется, все данные есть у нее в холке. Безразличные люди пройдут мимо, чаще всего они не в курсе дела. А те люди, которые проявят милосердие и подберут собаку, наверняка знают, что прежде всего животное нужно показать ветеринару, где и проверят наличие чипа со всей необходимой информацией, которая поможет вернуть собаку в руки хозяина.

Клеймо

Клеймо у собаки – это наколка на ухе, или животе. Набор цифр и букв, которые, так же как и чип, привязывает собаку к базе данных. Клеймо хорошо тем, что определить его можно без каких-либо электронных сканеров. Клеймо можно обнаружить сразу на месте. Но, есть и минусы – наколка имеет свойство разрушаться со временем и в итоге становится неразборчивой, нечитабельной. Некоторые делают собаке и клеймо и чип. Одним словом – прошлый век.

Адресник у собаки

Не смотря ни на что, я повесила на ошейник своей собачки адресник.  Это кулончик, чаще всего металлический. На кулоне гравируют самую необходимую информацию о собаке: кличка, адрес, номер телефона хозяина. Адресники бывают разнообразные, чаще всего выглядят как украшение. Они бывают в виде плоской металлической формы (косточка, сердечко, цветок) где с обеих сторон размещается информация способом гравирования. Бывают в виде металлической капли, которую можно раскрутить и разместить внутрь бумажечку с необходимой информацией. Чем капельки лучше: если вы поменяли номер телефона, или адрес, информацию можно переписать на другой бумажке и заменить. А еще они не дорогие, по сравнению с индивидуальной гравировкой, которую нужно специально заказывать.

Адресник

Адресник для собаки необходимый атрибут, я считаю. Не смотря на то, есть ли у нее клеймо, или чип, адресник сразу же укажет, куда нужно отвести потерянную собаку. К тому же смотрится это весьма симпатично.

Команда «ко мне»

Если команду «ко мне» хорошо закрепить в сознании питомца и вовремя скомандовать – есть большая вероятность, что она услышит вас, пойдет по направлению к вам и в итоге не потеряется. Чаще всего питомцы теряются именно тогда, когда внимание хозяина над собакой потеряно. Тогда остается лишь кричать, как в лесу. Не упускайте с виду своих питомцев. Кстати, не обязательно зацикливать собаку на команде «ко мне», можно просто научить ее хорошо реагировать на свое имя и др.

Страх потерять хозяина

Думаете, как не потерять собаку? Попробуйте сделать так, чтобы собака думала, как бы не потерять вас. Один из отличных способов, как не потерять собаку – развить в ней страх потерять хозяина. Для этого вам нужно пару раз спрятаться во время прогулки, пока она отвлеклась на очередной кустарник. Пускай собачка понервничает, потеряв вас. И тогда не вам нужно будет следить за собакой, а  собака сама будет следить за вами, чтобы вы не потерялись. Но, будьте осторожны, не прячьтесь долго, иначе собака потеряется, пока будет искать вас. Подумает, что вы ушли без нее домой и побежит за вами, теряясь в городских, одинаковых многоэтажках.

Поводок

Конечно же, есть вероятность того, что вы можете не удержать поводок во время резкого движения вашей собаки, которую ужалила оса в попу, и она принялась убегать. Но, все же, выгуливая собаку на поводке, вы сводите потерю питомца к минимуму. Но, держать собаку на поводке постоянно тоже не рекомендуется. Собака должна чувствовать, что вы ей доверяете. К тому же, несколько минут прогулки без поводка – это награда собаке за хорошее поведение во время выгула.

vnimanieВнимание: ни один из вышеперечисленных способов защитить собаку от потери не может рассматриваться как стопроцентная защита от потери. Но, береженого бог бережет.


В каких случаях может потеряться собака?

  • может испугаться взрыв петарды и драпануть, куда глаза глядят;
  • может побежать за другой собакой;
  • нападение на собаку стаи других собак;
  • бывает, что включает свой инстинкт ищейки и идет за запахом;
  • может побежать за другим человеком, внешне похожим на вас (волосы, курточка);
  • побежать в сторону дома (причин этому может быть много) хотя дом с другой стороны;
  • убежать из-за плохого отношения хозяина к собаке (в том числе во время дрессировки), собаки как дети – от хороших родителей не убегают;
  • собака может убежать во время несчастного случая, который случился с его хозяином (например, попал под машину);
  • и многое другое.

Не знаю почему, но я очень часто просматриваю рубрику «бюро находок» на Сландо. Там очень много объявлений о потере и находке собак, а так же других животных. Иногда я даже пытаюсь сопоставлять два объявления «я потерял собаку» и «я нашел собаку», ищу сходства во внешности собак на фото. Я обратила внимание, что чаще всего теряются немецкие овчарки, таксы и алабаи. Не проходите мимо потерянной собаки, осмотрите ее, возможно у нее есть клеймо, адресник. Конечно же, животное может быть напугано. Прежде всего, следует с ним поговорить. А так же обезопасьте свое животное. Ведь вы уже знаете, как не потерять собаку.

Помогите найти друга

Буду очень рада прочитать ваши размышления по этому поводу в комментариях. Большое спасибо!

Похожие записи в блоге

2 комментариев

  1. Lorena Traore
    08.08.2015 at 13:30 Ответить

    Даже не знаю что сказать т.к. скоро у меня тоже будет щенок чихуахуа. А ведь эта порода собак очень маленькая и ее (не приведи господь) будет сложнее искать. Но а после этой статьи мне вообще стало страшно… Потеря домашнего любимца это очень тяжело как и для хозяина так и для его домашнего любимца! Мне искренне аль тех кто теряет своих домашних любимцев!

  2. Наталия
    19.06.2017 at 19:31 Ответить

    Держите собаку на поводке, и не придётся охать и ахать!!! Собака не виновата, виноват только хозяин .

Прокомментировать

Skype