The dog cut its paw. What to do?

The winter of 2013 turned out to be very snowy, beautiful and noble. Throughout the winter, our pets frolicked on the soft, clean snow in the city clearing, and we did not fear for their health. With the advent of spring, our clearing has turned into a dangerous area for walking dogs. The bare ground, which had not yet had time to be covered with tall grass, showed us all the danger of the territory. In places there was a lot of glass, broken bottles, as well as sharp pieces of wooden boards, broken plastic and metal bars.

Soon the glade will be covered with young tall grass, will again acquire an innocent clean appearance, and no one will remember about dangerous garbage. At least until someone gets hurt.

The dog cut its paw

Daily walking of a pet is a common thing for dog owners. And it is unlikely that someone will comb the territory before each walk to clear dangerous objects. But, you definitely need to be aware of the first aid plan, if suddenly the dog cuts its paw on broken glass or other sharp objects.

In the event that a cut occurs, you will immediately understand this by the presence of blood on the paw, perhaps the dog will come running to complain to you. The cut should be treated first.

Capillary bleeding

If you see a shallow incision (up to 2-4 mm) from which blood is released in droplets, it will be enough to wash the wound with solutions of potassium permanganate or furacilin. Then you should blot the wound dry with a swab, lubricate with iodine (solution) and apply a bandage from a bandage.

Dog with bandage on paw

To keep the damaged paw and the bandage clean, you can put a sock on top, or wrap the paw in cellophane, securing it with adhesive tape (not tight).

know1. wash the wound;
2. blot dry with a swab;
3. lubricate with iodine solution;
4. apply a bandage;
5. wear a sock on top.

Damage to a vein or artery

1. If it bleeds in a trickle or pulsating fountain, then you are dealing with damage to an artery or vein. This is more dangerous and more serious than capillary bleeding. You should call your veterinarian immediately and apply a tight bandage above the wound (if an artery is damaged) or below the wound (if a vein is cut). This will compress an artery or vein and stop blood loss.

2. In the event that you were unable to stop the bleeding with a tight bandage, make a cotton-gauze swab and bandage it tightly to the wound. This will compress the ends of the damaged vessel and prevent blood loss until the veterinarian arrives or the dog is taken to the clinic, where he will be stitched and treated.

know1. call a veterinarian;
2. Tightly bandage a vein (below the wound) or an artery (above the wound);
3. apply to the wound and tightly bandage a cotton-gauze swab;
4. take the dog to the clinic.

AttentionAttention: If the dog cuts its paw or has other injuries, do not treat fresh wounds with hydrogen peroxide. This remedy causes difficulty in healing and burns. Hydrogen peroxide cannot stop bleeding. It is intended for the treatment of purulent wounds. It is good to clean wounds from pus and dead tissue.

Be careful with your pet, I wish you not to get into bad situations. And do not forget that in addition to broken glass, hungry ticks lie in wait for your dog in the spring. Find out what to do if dog bitten by a tick And what is piroplasmosis.

Related blog posts

2 comment

  1. stabbing
    12.04.2014 at 22: 29 Reply

    pure nonsense, you should teach the basics chtol .. potassium permanganate and furatsilin are the 1970s)) there is nothing but harm from them.
    miramistin or chlorhexidine .. or peroxide) rinse with a jet from a syringe with pressure .. give 1-2 minutes for action .. then mitiluracil or Apolo hydrogel into the wound .. then a liquid bandage)
    Author! copyright of the ancient Pindos book "cynologist" from the station stall for 20 rubles - not ashamed huh? all pseudo dog sites are filled with such nonsense.

    • Natalia
      12.04.2014 at 22: 45 Reply

      Thanks for the comment! Very useful, albeit a little rough))

EnglishRussianUkrainian
Skype

Собака порезала лапу. Что делать?

Зима 2013 года выдалась очень снежной, красивой и благородной. Всю зиму наши питомцы резвились на мягком, чистом снегу на городской полянке, а мы не опасались за их здоровье. С приходом весны наша полянка превратилась в опасную для выгула собак зону. Голая земля, которая еще не успела покрыться высокой травой, показала нам всю опасность территории. Местами встречалось много стекла, битых бутылок, а так же острые куски деревянных досок, ломаный пластик и металлические прутья.

Вскоре поляна укроется молодой высокой травой, снова обретет невинный чистый облик, а про опасный мусор так никто и не вспомнит. По крайней мере, до тех пор, пока кто-то не поранится.

Собака порезала лапу

Ежедневный выгул питомца – привычное дело для владельцев собак. И вряд ли кто-то будет прочесывать территорию перед каждой прогулкой, чтобы очистить от опасных предметов. Но, обязательно нужно быть осведомленным в плане первой помощи, если вдруг собака порезала лапу о битое стекло или другие острые предметы.

В случае, когда возник порез, вы сразу поймете это по наличию крови на лапе, возможно собачка сама прибежит к вам пожаловаться. Порез следует первично обработать.

Капиллярное кровотечение

Если вы видите неглубокий разрез (до 2-4 мм) из которого кровь выделяется капельками, достаточно будет промыть ранку растворами марганцовки или фурацилина. Потом следует тампоном промокнуть ранку насухо, смазать йодом (раствором) и наложить повязку из бинта.

Собака с повязкой на лапе

Чтобы поврежденная лапа и бинтовая повязка оставалась чистой, можно одеть сверху носок, или завернуть лапу в целлофан, закрепив его лейкопластырем (не туго).

vet1. промыть рану;
2. промокнуть тампоном насухо;
3. смазать раствором йода;
4. наложить бинтовую повязку;
5. одеть сверху носок.

Повреждение вены или артерии

1. Если кровоточит струйкой или пульсирующим фонтанчиком, значит, вы имеете дело с повреждением артерии или вены. Это опаснее и серьезнее, чем капиллярное кровотечение. Вам следует немедленно вызвать ветеринарного врача и наложить тугую повязку выше раны (если повреждена артерия), или ниже раны (если порезана вена). Этим вы сдавите артерию или вену и остановите потерю крови.

2. В том случае, если вам не удалось остановить кровотечение тугой повязкой, сделайте ватно-марлевый тампон и потуже прибинтуйте ее к ране. Этим вы сдавите концы поврежденного сосуда и предотвратите потерю крови до приезда ветеринара или доставки собаки в клинику, где ему наложат швы и пропишут лечение.

vet1. вызвать ветеринарного врача;
2. туго перевязать вену (ниже раны) или артерию (выше раны);
3. приложить к ране и туго перебинтовать ватно-марлевый тампон;
4. доставить собаку в клинику.

ВниманиеВнимание: Если собака порезала лапу, или имеет другие повреждения, не обрабатывайте свежие раны перекисью водорода. Это средство вызывает затруднение заживления и ожоги. Перекись водорода не в силах остановить кровотечение. Она предназначена для обработки гнойных ран. Ею хорошо очищать раны от гноя и мертвых тканей.

Будьте внимательны по отношению к своему питомцу, желаю вам не попадать в плохие ситуации. И не забывайте, что помимо битого стекла, весной вашу собаку подстерегают голодные клещи. Узнайте что делать, если собаку укусил клещ и что такое пироплазмоз.

Похожие записи в блоге

2 комментариев

  1. коля
    12.04.2014 at 22:29 Ответить

    чистый бред-вам бы поучить основы чтоль..марганцовка и фурацилин-это 1970 годы)) кроме вреда от них ничего нет.
    мирамистин или хлоргексидин..или перекись) промыть струйно из шприца напором..дать 1-2 мин на действие..далее митилурацил или гидрогель Аполо в рану..далее жидкий бинт)
    Автор! копирайт древней пиндосовой книжки «кинолога» из вокзального ларька за 20 руб-не стыдно а? подобным бредом забиты все псевдо собачьи сайты.

    • Наталия
      12.04.2014 at 22:45 Ответить

      Спасибо за комментарий! Весьма полезный, хоть и слегка грубоват ))

Прокомментировать

Skype