Bitten by a dog - what to do?

In everyday life, you can often find unpleasant incidents involving people and dogs. During a walk, dogs attack each other for reasons that are incomprehensible to many, and attacks on people are also periodically recorded. I propose to consider a few questions about this, and mainly - what to do if a dog has bitten you, your child, etc. And also, what consequences can be in connection with dog bites.

Why do dogs bite

I will begin to consider this issue from the very young age of the puppy. Dogs, like people, have their own methods of raising offspring. An adult neighbor's dog can use his teeth to show your puppy that he should respect the elders in this yard. Usually these are frightening fleeting light bites that will not bring physical damage to the baby, but he will remember for a long time who he should be afraid of and respect. And the next time, instead of joyfully jumping on the heads of all the dogs in a row, he will already know that this dachshund or collie needs to be respectfully walked past.

Dog attack

Dogs can do this to people too. If a person shows any disrespect to a dog in its own territory, the dog will see fit to show him with his teeth who is in charge here.

PozitivchikMy friend had a case on this subject. Two friends gathered one evening to sit, chat, have dinner together. And in this house there lived a big dog, everything was spinning around and lying near the table. The guest, in a drunken state, decided to treat the dog with bread and began to tease. As a result, he received a “kiss” right on the nose for his generosity. Surely the dog thought - "who are you that you behave so disrespectfully with me on my territory, tease me with my bread from my table, which I protect?"

When a puppy enters your family, it quickly begins to understand who is the leader in the family. The puppy watches with interest how the head of the family behaves with everyone else. And if in the family, especially on the part of the leader, rude behavior, sharp loud cries, abusive words and appropriate facial expressions are manifested, the puppy understands everything and remembers in order to, having matured, take the place of the leader - this is a natural desire. Based on this, we can say that the dog reflects your behavior. And having absorbed the negative impact, one day he will be able to use it for his own upbringing purposes, even with small children. And, as a rule, teeth are used.

Raising a puppy in the family

Education and dominance are not all the reasons that can lead to a skirmish with dogs. But, perhaps, one of the main bases. It would be possible to consider sentry and security parties, etc., but I propose to return to the main topic. I would also like to say that some types of dog aggression are shared. Perhaps this will be useful to you to seize the moment and avoid severe cases of collision with dogs.

Types of aggression in dogs:

  • defensive aggression;
  • dominant;
  • security;
  • caused by punishment, fear, or pain;
  • territorial;
  • hunting (for prey);
  • parent;
  • sexual (to individuals of the same sex).

The rabies virus is the most dangerous to humans when bitten by dogs.

By using their teeth, dogs can infect humans with various viruses, especially yard dogs. To date, perhaps the most dangerous virus for humans that a dog can give when bitten is rabies. Posters about rabies used to be seen in every clinic, on every floor. And it's not just that.

Symptoms of human rabies:

1. The first stage of development of rabies in humans lasts 1-3 days. During this period, the infected person begins to be afraid of everything, experiences nausea, suffers from thirst, constipation, insomnia and shortness of breath. There is an increased temperature, immobility of the occiput and neck. The bite sites begin to hurt, the wounds sometimes fester.

2. For the next 2-3 days, the person infected with rabies has a desire to pounce and bite other people. Seizures are observed. There is a strong excitement, violentness, a person begins to break everything and smash around him. Fear of water, fear of air movement, hallucinations develop. Salivation increases. This state is called the second stage.

3. The third stage lasts only a few hours. At the same time, the person's pulse increases sharply, the voice becomes very hoarse, paralyzes the limbs, tongue, face, and death occurs.

AttentionRabies is a serious viral disease that is transmitted by animal bites, especially dogs, cats and foxes. It has an incubation period of 10 days to 12 months (usually 2-3 months).

If bitten by a dog - what to do first

And now that we have looked at the rabies virus based on the symptoms of a human disease, it is not difficult to guess that with dog bites, going to the doctor is an urgent need.

If bitten by a dog, the first step is to thoroughly wash the wound with soapy water (soap partially kills the rabies virus. Scientific experiments have been conducted where thorough washing of wounds with soap and water stopped infection in 90% of experimental animals). Then you need to thoroughly rinse the wounds with running water, and finally treat with hydrogen peroxide (this remedy does not stop the blood, but cleans and disinfects the wound). You should not try to stop the blood immediately after the bite, let it flow out a little along with the dog's saliva.

The edges of the wound must be treated with iodine or brilliant green. The wound itself should not be cauterized with solutions. If necessary, apply an aseptic pressure bandage. Use modern materials (hygroscopic) that will not stick to the wound. In no case do not allow sharp objects to the wound for 2-3 days, for example, to cut off the edges of the wound, incisions, suturing (the exception is bleeding vessels that need to be stitched to stop the external flow of blood).

An injection of rabies

After treating the wound, you must consult a doctor who will definitely ask you under what circumstances you were bitten, how the dog looked and behaved, whether it was stray or domestic. And if your condition after the bites does not require hospitalization, you will be examined, professionally treated for the wound, given all necessary vaccinations (against tetanus), advised on antimicrobial treatment of the affected parts of the skin and the following vaccinations.

Related blog posts

EnglishRussianUkrainian
Skype

Укусила собака – что делать?

В повседневной жизни частенько можно встретить неприятные инциденты с участием людей и собак. Во время выгула собаки нападают друг на друга по непонятным для многих причинам, а так же периодически фиксируются нападения на людей. Предлагаю рассмотреть несколько вопросов по этому поводу и главным образом – что делать, если собака укусила вас, вашего ребенка и т.д. А так же, какие последствия могут быть в связи с укусами собак.

Почему собаки кусаются

Начну рассматривать этот вопрос с самого юного возраста щенка. Среди собак, как и людей, имеются свои методы воспитания потомства. Взрослая соседская собака с помощью зубов может показать вашему щенку, что он должен уважать старших в этом дворе. Обычно это пугающие мимолетные легкие укусы, которые не принесут физических повреждений малышу, зато он надолго запомнит, кого он должен бояться и уважать. И в следующий раз вместо того, чтобы радостно прыгать на голову всем подряд собакам, он уже будет знать, что эту таксу, или колли нужно уважительно обойти мимо.

Нападение собаки

У собак по отношению к людям тоже могут возникать такие ситуации. Если человек проявляет какое-либо неуважение к собаке на ее же территории, собака посчитает нужным показать ему с помощью своих зубов кто здесь главный.

ПозитивчикУ моего приятеля был случай на эту тему. Собрались два друга как-то вечерком посидеть, поболтать, поужинать вместе. А в этом доме жил большой пес, все крутился рядом и лежал возле стола. Гость, в пьяном состоянии, решил побаловать собаку хлебом и начал дразнить.  В итоге получил «поцелуй» прямо в нос за свою щедрость. Наверняка пес подумал – «кто ты такой, что так неуважительно ведешь себя со мной на моей территории, дразнишь меня моим хлебом с моего стола, который я оберегаю?»

Когда щенок попадает в вашу семью, достаточно таки быстро начинает понимать, кто в семье лидер. Щенок с интересом наблюдает, как глава семьи ведет себя со всеми остальными. И если в семье, особенно со стороны лидера проявляется грубое поведение, резкие громкие крики, ругательные слова и соответствующая мимика, щенок понимает все и запоминает для того, чтобы, повзрослев, занять место лидера – это природное стремление. Исходя из этого, можно сказать, что собака отражает ваше поведение. И впитав в себя негативное воздействие, однажды сможет его применить в своих целях воспитания, даже с маленькими детьми. И, как правило, в ход идут зубы.

Воспитание щенка в семье

Воспитание и доминирование это далеко не все причины, которые могут привести к стычке с собаками. Но, пожалуй, одни из основных баз. Можно было бы рассмотреть сторожевые и охранные стороны и т.д., но предлагаю все-таки вернуться к основной теме. Хотелось бы еще сказать, что разделяют некоторые типы агрессии собак. Возможно, это пригодиться вам, чтобы уловить момент и избежать тяжелых случаев столкновения с собаками.

Типы агрессий у собак:

  • защитная агрессия;
  • доминантная;
  • охранная;
  • вызвана наказанием, страхом или болью;
  • территориальная;
  • охотничья (к добыче);
  • родительская;
  • сексуальная (к особям своего пола).

Вирус бешенства – самый опасный для человека при укусах собак

Пуская в ход зубы, собаки могут заразить человека различными вирусами, особенно это касается дворовых собак. На сегодняшний день, пожалуй, самый опасный для человека вирус, которым может одарить собака при укусе – бешенство. Плакаты о бешенстве раньше можно было увидеть в каждой поликлинике, на каждом этаже. И это не просто так.

Симптомы бешенства человека:

1. Первая стадия развития бешенства у человека длиться 1-3 дня. В этот период, зараженный человек начинает всего бояться, испытывает тошноту, мучается от жажды, запора, бессонницы и затрудненного дыхания. Наблюдается повышенная температура, неподвижность затылка и шеи. Места укусов начинают болеть, раны иногда гноятся.

2. Последующие 2-3 дня у зараженного бешенством человека появляется желание наброситься и покусать других людей. Наблюдаются судороги. Проявляется сильное возбуждение, буйность, человек начинает все ломать и громить вокруг себя. Развиваются боязнь воды, боязнь движения воздуха, галлюцинации. Повышается слюнотечение. Это состояние называют второй стадией.

3. Третья стадия длиться всего несколько часов. При этом у человека резко усиливается пульс, голос становиться очень хриплым, парализует конечности, язык, лицо и наступает летальный исход.

ВниманиеБешенство – это тяжелое вирусное заболевание, которое передается при укусах животных, особенно собак, кошек и лисиц. Имеет инкубационный период  от 10 дней до 12 месяцев (обычно – 2-3 месяца).

Если укусила собака – что делать в первую очередь

И теперь, когда мы рассмотрели вирус бешенства, основываясь на симптомах заболевания человека, не сложно догадаться, что при укусах собак обращение к врачу является острой необходимостью.

Если укусила собака, первым делом следует тщательно промыть рану мыльной водой (мыло частично убивает вирус бешенства. Проводились научные эксперименты, где тщательная промывка ран водой с мылом останавливала заражение у 90% подопытных животных). Затем нужно хорошенько промыть раны проточной водой, и наконец обработать перекисью водорода (это средство не останавливает кровь, а очищает и дезинфицирует рану). Не следует стараться остановить кровь сразу же после укуса, пускай вытечет немного вместе со слюной собаки.

Края раны необходимо обработать йодом или зеленкой. Саму рану прижигать растворами не стоит. При необходимости следует наложить асептическую давящую повязку. Используйте при этом современные материалы (гигроскопические), которые не будут прилипать к ране. Ни в коем случае не пускайте к ране острые предметы в течение 2-3 дней, например для отсечения краев раны, надрезов, наложения швов (исключение — кровоточащие сосуды, которые нужно прошить для остановки наружного течения крови).

Укол от бешенства

После обработки раны необходимо обратиться к врачу, который обязательно спросит вас – при каких обстоятельствах вас укусили, как собака выглядела и вела себя, бродячая она или домашняя. И если ваше состояние после укусов не будет требовать госпитализации, вас осмотрят, профессионально обработают рану, сделают все необходимые прививки (от столбняка), проконсультируют по поводу антимикробного лечения пораженных частей кожи и следующих вакцинаций.

Похожие записи в блоге

Прокомментировать

Skype