Do-it-yourself dog house

Hello, in continuation of the topic - why you need to equip a place for dogs (6 reasons), I want to talk about how to make a do-it-yourself dog house and not leave your pet in the cold, or on rainy days without a roof over your head. In previous articles, we have already mentioned how important this structure is for the pet's health, including psychological, as well as for raising a dog.

Booths come in several types, which vary in design and size. But, the main thing is that it should be chosen specifically for your dog, including its size and your creative possibilities.

Where is the best place to place a booth

One of the important stages is the choice of the place where the booth will be located. The place should be dry, where water does not accumulate, and there is no constant dampness. It is good if it is located in an open, ventilated place, possibly with one or two blank walls (or a fence) that will protect it from strong winter drafts. Also, there should be a shade next to the place for the dog, where the pet can hide from the scorching sun.

AttentionThe booth on the territory should be located in a place where the dog can have a maximum radius of view, it is especially important that the gate and the gate are visible from the booth. This is necessary to maintain the instinct of protection - dogs tend to control the territory subject to them. It is desirable to have a booth closer to the entrance of the house - for frequent communication of the dog with you. This is necessary in order to have contact with the dog and to maintain his desire to serve you.

What size should the dog house be?

Also a lot of important point - the size of the home for the dog. The booth should not be small, it is inconvenient for the pet. And it should not be large, as drafts will walk in it, due to which the dog will freeze.

The booth should be of such a size that the dog can freely enter, turn around and lie down.

Below in the figure we give an example of how to take individual measurements for your dog. If you install a booth for a dog in puppyhood, then be guided by breed standards (sizes).

Do-it-yourself dog house

  • H - the height of the dog from floor to head is equal to W - the width and height of the booth can be added 5-10 cm;
  • L - the length of the dog is equal to the depth of the booth;
  • h - the width of the chest plus 5 cm is equal to the width of the manhole of the booth;
  • Wd - the height of the dog from the floor to the withers minus 5 cm is equal to the height of the manhole of the booth.

We take the obtained parameters as the basis for the internal space of the booth.

Booth materials

To build a simple do-it-yourself dog house, we will need boards so that the wood is of good quality, preferably hardwood - dry (as for furniture production), and then the little things: a saw, nails, screws, a hammer and a ruler for measurements and cutting boards to the parts we want.

Let's start making the booth:

  • start making the booth from the floor, you should attach the boards (grooved) well to each other so that there are no gaps and so that the dog's claws do not get stuck in it, and she could not destroy the floor. It is advisable to choose thick boards for the floor - so it will be warmer in winter and more durable;
  • a frame should be made from several boards;
  • then we take the boards and start nailing them to the frame, removing excess pieces from one and the other side, the inside of the booth should be well sealed, puttied - and remove knots, wrap or cut nails and screws if they stick out;
  • last we make the front wall with a hole. It needs to be cut well so that there are no knots, as the dog may get hurt. The threshold can be upholstered with linoleum - for durability;
  • after which we make a roof, it can be made different domed or classical - coal or shed - dogs like to sit on such a roof and observe. The roof must be removable and at the same time well attached to the frame. So that you can clean up in the booth or process from parasites;
  • for the durability of the booth on the outside, it can be painted, treated with an antiseptic or upholstered with fur bedspreads. There is no need to paint the booth inside - the dog can gnaw on the inside, fur can be nailed there;
  • at the booth you can make a couch where the dog can lie in the open air, in the fresh air and sunbathe. In terms of area, it can be like a floor in a kennel. The bed should be placed near the entrance.

A do-it-yourself dog house will turn out very well if you take into account all these important aspects that we have considered. We hope that this information will inspire and help you create a cozy and healthy home for your pet. You can also purchase a ready-made booth, or make it to order by contacting specialists.

author - Konstantin Markin
(animal psychologist, animal trainer)

Related blog posts

2 comment

  1. Olga
    25.07.2017 at 13: 06 Reply

    Good afternoon!

    How to calculate W size?
    Is it possible to make it equal to H?

    Thanks in advance for the answer!

    • Konstantin Markin
      22.02.2018 at 20: 05 Reply

      We think yes. W - in order for the dog to enter and turn around. Enough and half L

EnglishRussianUkrainian
Skype

Будка для собаки своими руками

Здравствуйте, в продолжение темы — зачем нужно оборудовать место для собак (6 причин), я хочу поговорить о том, как сделать будку для собаки своими руками и не оставить своего любимчика на холоде, или в дождливые дни без крыши над головой. В предыдущих статьях мы уже упоминали, как важно это сооружение для здоровья питомца, в том числе психологического, а так же для воспитания собаки.

Будки бывают нескольких типов,  которые различаются по дизайну и размеру. Но, главное то, что она должна быть подобрана специально под вашу собаку, включая ее размеры и ваши творческие возможности.

Где лучше расположить будку

Один из важных этапов — это выбор места, где будет находиться будка. Место должно быть сухим, где не скапливается вода, и нет постоянной сырости. Хорошо если она будет находиться на открытом проветриваемом месте, возможно с одной или двумя глухими стенами (или забором), которые ее будут защищать от сильных зимних сквозняков. Также, рядом с местом для собаки должна быть тень, где питомец может скрыться от палящего солнца.

ВниманиеБудка на территории должна находиться в таком месте, где собака сможет иметь максимальный радиус обзора, особенно важно, чтобы из будки были видны ворота и калитка. Это необходимо для поддержания инстинкта охраны — собаки стремятся контролировать подвластную им территорию. Будку желательно располагать ближе к входу  дома — для частого общения собаки с вами. Это необходимо для того, чтобы был контакт с собакой и для поддержания ее желания служить вам.

Какого размера должна быть будка для собаки

Также немало важный момент — размеры жилища для собаки. Будка не должна быть маленькая, это неудобно для питомца. И не должна быть большая, так как в ней будут гулять сквозняки, за счет чего собака будет мерзнуть.

Будка должна быть такого размера, чтобы собака могла свободно войти, развернуться и лечь.

Ниже на рисунке мы приводим пример, как делать индивидуальные замеры под вашу собаку. Если вы устанавливаете будку собаке в щенячьем возрасте — то ориентируйтесь на стандарты породы (размеры).

Будка для собаки своими руками

  • H – высота собаки от пола до головы равна W — ширине и высоте будки можно добавить 5-10 см;
  • L – длина собаки равна глубине будки;
  • h – ширина груди плюс 5 см равна ширине лаза будки;
  • Wd – высота собаки от пола до холки минус 5 см равна высоте лаза будки.

Полученные параметры берём за основу внутреннего пространства будки.

Материалы для будки

Для постройки простой будки для собаки своими руками нам нужны будут доски, чтобы дерево было хорошего качества, желательно лиственных пород — сухое (как для производства мебели), а далее по мелочи: пила, гвозди, шурупы, молоток и линейка для мерок и разрезание досок на нужные нам части.

Приступим к изготовлению будки:

  • начните изготовление будки с пола, следует хорошо приложить доски (шпунтованные) между собой, чтобы не было щелей и чтобы, когти собаки не застревали в нем, и она не смогла разрушить пол. Желательно выбирать для пола толстые доски — так он будет теплее зимой и долговечней;
  • из нескольких досок следует сделать каркас;
  • далее возьмём доски и начнём прибивать их гвоздями к каркасу, удаляя с одной и второй стороны лишние куски, внутреннюю часть будки следует хорошо заделать, подшпаклевать — и убрать сучки, завернуть или срезать гвозди и шурупы, если они торчат;
  • последней делаем переднюю стенку с лазом. Его хорошо нужно вырезать, чтобы не было сучков, так как собака может, пораниться. Порожек можно оббить линолеумом — для долговечности;
  • после чего делаем крышу, ее можно делать разную куполообразную или классическую — угольную или односкатную — на такой крыше собаки любят сидеть и вести наблюдение. Крыша  должна быть съемная и одновременно хорошо крепиться к каркасу. Чтобы можно было прибираться в будке или обрабатывать от паразитов;
  • для долговечности будки снаружи ее можно покрасить, обработать антисептиком или оббить меховым покрывалами. Внутри будку красить не нужно — собака может грызть внутренние части, там можно прибить мех;
  • при будке можно сделать лежанку, где собака может лежать под открытым небом, на свежем воздухе и загорать. По площади это может быть как пол в конуре. Лежанку следует расположить около входа.

Будка для собаки своими руками у вас получиться очень хорошо, если вы учтете все эти важные аспекты, которые мы рассмотрели. Надеемся, что эта информация вдохновит и поможет вам при создании, уютного и здорового жилища для своего питомца. Вы также можете приобрести готовую будку, или сделать ее на заказ, обратившись к специалистам.

автор — Константин Маркин
(зоопсихолог, дрессировщик)

Похожие записи в блоге

Прокомментировать

Skype